Tuesday, June 28, 2016



Series:  Bar Harbor #1

Author:  Marni Mann

Publish Date:   03.18.14

Publisher:  Booktrope Editions

Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content and violence

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Received from:  Marni Mann (in exchange for an honest review)

Tour by:  Reading Addiction Book Tours

Goodreads link: Pulled Beneath

Date completed: 03.30.14


Description from the publisher:

What happens when you uncover years of secrets and find out everything you thought to be true was a lie?


Drew Stevens finds her world turned upside down when her parents are brutally murdered. Soon after, she learns she inherited a property in Bar Harbor, Maine, from recently deceased grandparents that she believed had died when she was a baby.


Drew travels north to settle her grandparents’ estate, but finds more questions than answers as the truth starts unraveling. What she didn’t expect to find was Saint, whose reputation is as tumultuous as his past. But the very thing that brings them together is the same thing that keeps them emotionally caged.


With Saint's scars so deep and Drew's so fresh, can the pair heal from their painful wounds or will they be pulled beneath the darkness of their pasts?



This is the first book in a new series, but can stand-alone.


After her parents are murdered, the life she knows proves to be an intricately-woven web of lies.  As the web begins to unravel, Drew finds more questions than answers.  She travels from Florida to Maine to settle the estate of the grandparents she thought had already died when she was a baby.  Once in Maine, dealing with her survivor’s guilt and the confusion that comes from the identities of her family, she is also struggling with new friends, renovations, and real estate.  Saint is just as deeply scarred by his family and afraid to lose again.  Can they heal together?


I loved how real the characters are in this story.  Nobody was all evil or all good.  They were all people with good and bad habits and histories. 


Ms. Mann approached several sensitive subjects with grace and empathy, including teenage pregnancy and substance abuse. 


Drew has the support of friends in Florida and the many people she meets in Bar Harbor, Maine.  She also had the love and support of her four-footed friend, Bella.  The relationship between her and her dog was so lovingly written that I just know Ms. Mann must have a special fur-baby in her home.


This was the first book I have read from this author, but I am already in love with her style and the content she presents.  I look forward to reading more from this series and this author.


The Pulled series:

  1. Pulled Beneath
  2. Pulled Back (summer 2014)
  3. Pulled Apart (date unknown)

Also from Marni Mann:

Memoir Series:
  1. Memoirs Aren’t Fairytales:  A Story of Addiction
  2. Scars from a Memoir
Shadows Series:
  1. Seductive Shadows
  2. Seductive Secrecy



Thank you for hosting this tour.


Originally posted 03.30.2014 on my previous website

WordPress.com closed that site because I promoted authors and their books


No comments:

Post a Comment