Wednesday, May 25, 2016

POWER OF LOVE by Anne Conley


Series:  Book B!tches #1

Author:  Anne Conley

Publish Date:   05.25.2016

Publisher:  Anne Conley

Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance, Paranormal

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Received from:  Anne Conley (for Beta reading)

Goodreads link: Power of Love

Date completed: 04.26.2016

Description from the publisher:

Welcome to Mystic, Texas, where the past stays alive in more ways than one.

 Vanessa Power, a budding Indie Romance author, believes the town is calling her name, being the new life and fresh start she’s craving. She’s met an amazing group of women who have a regular book club, reading only Indie Authors. Unfortunately, her new house is in worse shape than she thought and holds more mysteries than she’s prepared for. And then there’s the handyman.

Linc Patterson holds more mysteries than her house and the town combined, with a past he won’t reveal in a package which is built for nothing short of sin.

Linc is captivated by his new boss, the only person in town who will give him a job, but only because she doesn’t know he’s an ex-con. Can he keep his past locked away, while at the same time indulging in his fantasies with the pleasantly curvy and deliciously sexy Vanessa? Probably not.

They are both looking for a new start in life. Will they be able to find it together? Or will something sinister keep them apart?


This is the first in the Book B!tches series.  They will need to be read in order, though there is no cliffhanger.

I love Vanessa.  Like a lot of bookish people, she is a bit nervous about life.  Still, she has made a tough decision – leaving her family home to build her own life in the home bought for herself.  The house is a real fixer-upper, but the sexy handyman next door turns her renovations into eye-candy time.  Linc has captured my heart.  He is a man who doesn’t believe that his past will allow him to have a happy future.  From the minute they meet, the spark is lit leading to lust and love.  The roller coaster ride to their HEA is an E-ticket!

 Her new friends in the book club are fantastic.  Their realness captured me.  They are the kind of friends we all need – supportive with a dash of sarcasm, under-handedness, and sometimes downright harshness when needed.

 One of the interesting back-stories to this book is that the characters in the book club are (loosely) based on other Indie authors who are friends with Anne Conley.  That means those sneaky sarcastic bitches are real!! I think a certain, favorite, blogger/BETA reader should also have a character – just sayin’!

Anne, I pray you never quit writing and allowing me to read from your wonderful imagination.  Thank you for allowing me to be part of your journey.

The Book Bitches series:

  1. Power of Love

Other books from Anne Conley:

  • The Fixer Upper
  • Best Laid Plans of Boys and Men

Stories of Serendipity Series:

  1. Neighborly Complications
  2. Dream On
  3. Chef's Delight
  4. Hot Mess
  5. Falling for Him
  6. Gambling on Love
  7. My Mistake
  8. Wrecked
  9. Saving Charlie

Pierce Securities Series:
  1. Craze
  2. Wire
  3. Click
  4. Grab

The Four Winds series:

  1. Falling for Heaven
  2. Falling for Grace
  3. Falling for Hope
  4. Falling for Faith
  5. Falling for Cyn

Moonrising Series (with KS Haigwood):
  1. Midnight Moonrising
  2. Andromeda’s Reign



No comments:

Post a Comment