Wednesday, May 25, 2016

MY MISTAKE by Anne Conley


Series:  Stories of Serendipity #7

Author:  Anne Conley

Publish Date:   03.31.14

Publisher:  Anne Conley

Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Received from:  Anne Conley (in exchange for an honest review)

Tour by:  My Family's Heart Book Tours

Date completed: 04.16.14

Goodreads link: My Mistake


Description from the publisher:

Welcome to Serendipity, Texas, where the days are hot and the nights are steamy. Meet real people with real problems, as they live life and find love in a small town.

12 years ago, Brent walked away from his one big love, and has regretted it ever since. He’s done nothing but make mistake after mistake with his life. Now, he’s finally getting his act together, starting up a sanctuary for abused and neglected horses, and staying clean.

Casey had put Brent out of her mind the best way she knew how, by going on with her own life: getting married and trying to have kids. When her marriage ends up being a mistake, she moves back in with her mother in Serendipity to lick her wounds. What she doesn’t expect is Brent, waltzing back into her life.

Can they put their own and each other’s mistakes behind them to move forward together? When Casey’s life is put in danger, Brent steps up, but will it be enough?

My Mistake is book seven in the Stories of Serendipity. You will meet some of the same characters, but they are all stand-alone novels.


This is the seventh book in the Stories of Serendipity series, but it is the first that I have read.  It does stand alone.


I absolutely loved this story.  I like animals, but I was never one of those girls that went horse crazy, so that wasn’t the appeal.  Brent’s care for his dog, Mooch, and the horses he is rehabilitating is palpable.  Even more so, is the love he has had for Casey since they were children.  A love that has endured, unrequited, for both of them through all that they have been through in the last twelve years. 


I couldn’t help but relate to Casey in this story.  She was a good wife, but the marriage had ended.  Her ex-husband blamed her for the problems in their marriage.  Fortunately, for me, that is the end of the commonality.  It was a bad coincidence that the end of my own marriage came while I was reading this story.  I didn’t think I could read romance this week, but the truth is that I do still believe in love and I am happy to see someone else be happy.  I can only hope that I find my ‘Brent.’  The story is well-written and compelling.  I found myself lost in the lives of Brent and Casey, laughing, crying, and holding my breath right alongside them.


I have loved all of the books that I have read from Ms. Conley and will continue to read as quickly as she can create. 


The Four Winds series:

  1. Falling for Heaven
  2. Falling for Grace
  3. Falling for Hope
  4.  Falling for Faith
  5. Falling for Cyn

Stories of Serendipity Series:

  1. Dream On
  2. Neighborly Complications
  3. Chef's Delight
  4. Hot Mess
  5. Falling for Him
  6. Gambling on Love
  7. My Mistake



Thank you [My Family's Heart Book Tours] for hosting this tour.


originally posted 07.15.2014 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment