Tuesday, May 31, 2016

DREAM FAMILY by J.J. DiBenedetto


Author:  J. J. Di Benedetto

Publish Date:   03.17.13

Publisher:  J. J. Di Benedetto

Category:  Paranormal, Adult Fiction, Family

Recommended for:  Teens and adults

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

Received from:  J.J. DiBenedetto (in exchange for an honest review)/ Blog Tour

Goodreads:  Dream Family

Date completed: 10.05.13


Description from the publisher:

"Why is this so hard for me? Why am I having so much trouble? Why do I feel so helpless, so hopeless? What the hell is wrong with me?"

After tangling with murders and mobsters, not to mention medical school and three years of residency, Sara thought she could handle anything. And then the police show up without warning at her new office and arrest her for a crime she can't possibly have committed. Sara's confidence, and her grip on reality, is shattered during one terrifying night in jail.

Now, the very dreams that have endangered her life and driven her to the edge of madness may be the only thing that can help Sara find herself again...

"Dream Family" is the powerful fourth novel in the "Dreams" series..


This is the fourth book in a series.  Though each could stand alone, there is greater understanding in reading all of them, in order.


One the very first day of private practice, the police show up and arrest Sara for a crime she couldn’t have possibly committed in only four hours of business.  Twenty-four hours in jail is enough to trigger old memories that leave her with a PTSD.  Not only do her dreams help her solve the crime of which she has been accused, but also several other situations involving those she loves are also resolved from the dreams of her and her family.


This story was a little more emotional, more personal.  I think all women can relate to the fear of the violations and indignities inherent in the act of being incarcerated.  Though Sara is torn apart, in fact broken, emotionally by these actions, she also rallies the strength and love she is able to garner from family and friends to soldier on in order to gain her permanent freedom.


I am so glad I signed on for all five books in this series.  Thank you J.J. for sharing them with me and with the world.  J.J.’s growing mastery of his craft is evident in the richness of character and plot development in this story.


Memorable quote:  “Never ask ‘what else can go wrong,’ unless you want to find out.” ~ Beth


The Dreams series:

  1. Dream Student
  2. Dream Doctor
  3. Dream Child
  4. Dream Family
  5. Waking Dream

 J.J. (James) DiBenedetto was born in Yonkers, New York. He attended Case Western Reserve University, where as his classmates can attest, he was a complete nerd. Very little has changed since then.

He currently lives in Arlington, Virginia with his beautiful wife and their cat (who has thoroughly trained them both). When he's not writing, James works in the direct marketing field, enjoys the opera, photography, and the New York Giants, among other interests.

The "Dreams" series is James' first published work.




originally posted 10.05.2013 on my previous website

WordPress.com closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment