Saturday, July 18, 2015


Series:  N/A
Author:  Cassy Roop
Publish Date:  June 26, 2015
Publisher:  Pink Ink
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Cassy Roop 
                           (in exchange for an honest review)
Tour by:  Concierge Literary Promotions, LLC
Goodreads link: Survivor’s Guilt
Date completed: 07.13.15

Description from the publisher:
There are five stages of grief.

Losing the love of your life is one of the hardest things anyone would ever have to face. Especially when your life with them was just beginning. When tragedy strikes on what should be the happiest time of your life, how are you supposed to pick up the pieces of your life and move on without them? Two strangers who happen to share a life changing event, come to find solace in each other to help deal with their pain. One of them feels the guilt of being the reason that a life was lost. The other guilty for making a last second choice.

Both of them, guilty that they survived.

But what happens when a bond that surfaces from tragedy brings these two strangers together? Finding comfort in each other as they both deal with the same pain, was never the plan. Can they look beyond the guilt of the past in order stop themselves dying along with their loved ones, but instead live and learn to love again?

What happens when losing your first love becomes the reason for meeting your one true love?

This is a stand-alone story / not part of a series.

SURVIVOR’S GUILT is a highly emotionally charged story of surviving the unthinkable.  What Ellie and Evan have been through is the stuff of nightmares.  To live afterwards, in a life filled with guilt, regret, and what-ifs, is beyond the hardest thing that most can imagine.  Unless you have lost a spouse or child, you cannot comprehend the emotional depth of despair that those who have had to face.  In this story, Ellie and Evan are thrust into that despair and hopelessness.  When they lean on each other as they navigate the stages of grief, the greatest challenge is accepting that they are allowed happiness when their spouses no longer can experience the joys or tears of life.

 There are five stages of grief:  Denial, Bargaining, Anger, Depression, and Acceptance.  There is no cheating this process.  Now that I am 11 years (actually 10 years and 11 months, not that I’m still counting, right?) past my own nightmare wrought by Hurricane Charley, I believe I had a unique perspective on this story.  Cassy Roop has fully captured the emotional turmoil and guilt associated with surviving when someone you love dearly has been ripped from your life.

This is the first book I have read from Cassy Roop.  I want more. 

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Books from Cassy Roop:
  • The Price of Love
  • Void
  • Survivor’s Guilt
Celtic Knot Series:
1.      Ashley’s Bend
2.      Figure Eight
3.      Triquetra
4.      Axel Hitch

Thank you Concierge Literary Promotions for hosting this tour.

No comments:

Post a Comment