Sunday, January 18, 2015

TROUBLE MAKERS by Emme Rollins

Series:  Trouble #4
Author:  Emme Rollins
Publish Date:   01.09.15
Publisher:  Emme Rollins
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Emme Rollins (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: Trouble Makers
Date completed: 01.08.15

Description from the publisher:
When your best friend falls in love with a rock star, you either join her in her fixation, or you spend a lot of nights eating ice cream and watching Netflix by yourself. If you can’t beat them, join them, isn’t that what they say?

While Bree—my best friend since forever—couldn’t get enough of “Trouble” and their lead singer, Rob Burns, I set my sights a little lower – and to the left. Rob’s immediate left, that is, at least on stage. Tyler Cook was Trouble’s lead guitarist, a tall, glorious, dark blonde, beautiful specimen of a man who could make ovaries explode and panties drop with just one twist of that smirky smile of his.

Of course, it was all just in good fun, two girls going to Trouble concerts and screaming ourselves hoarse along with the rest of the fans. Bree’s fascination with Rob, and mine with Tyler, was a fun little fantasy, a distraction from our boring everyday lives, mine as a dental hygienist and Bree’s as an elementary school music teacher, until one day the “what-if” game Bree liked to play—as in, “what if we met Trouble some day?” and “What if they asked us to go on tour with them?”—actually happened.

Actually. Happened.

One minute we were going to see Trouble in concert, and the next, we were backstage, face-to-face with the real-live, sexy thing. I never expected to meet rock god Tyler Cook. I never expected to end up on a tour bus with sex god Tyler Cook. I certainly never expected to fall in love with the man, that beautiful, broken, wild man, or become so hooked I simply couldn’t give him up—no matter what it cost, or who I hurt, even myself.

Because sometimes you have to stop asking yourself, “What if?” Sometimes you have to find out what happens next.

This is the fourth book in the Trouble series.  I had not read any of the previous episodes and I can say with confidence it does stand on its own.

Katie and Bree have made a pact – they never go after the same guy.  So when Bree has a fan crush on Rob Burns, lead singer of Trouble, Katie chooses a different guy in the band, Tyler Cook, lead guitarist.  When “what if we actually met them,” becomes more than a game and Tyler invites Katie to travel on tour with them, Katie takes a chance on a dream.  What she finds is the reality of touring – sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll is not just a t-shirt slogan!  Do all dreams end in nightmares, or is there another way over the rainbow?

I love Katie, Bree, Tyler, and Rob….the whole team!  Do not go into this thinking you know how all rock romances go.  This one is different.  What if instead of the good girl leading the bad boy into realizing that love makes everything better, the bad boy leads the good (or not so good) girl down the path to destruction?  Tyler and Katie are made for each other.  Neither sees themselves as the good person.  They’re aims are for a life of fun and rock-n-roll music.  Still, there are a lot of redeeming qualities in both of them that neither is ready to see in themselves, yet.  On the other hand, they have amazing friends who believe in them and will tear down the ends of the earth to help them. 

My only trouble is that I now want the previous three episodes in this series!  This is the first book I have read from Emme Rollins.  Please, dear Lord, don’t let it be my last!

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

The Trouble series:
  1. Meeting Trouble
  2. Following Trouble
  3. Making Trouble
  4. Trouble Makers
Other Books from Emme Rollins:
  • Buried Secrets
  • Home for Christmas
  • Infinite Love
Dear Rockstar Series:

  1. Dear Rockstar
  2. Lucky Girl

No comments:

Post a Comment