Monday, January 19, 2015

SLASH & BURN by Jade C. Jamison

Title:  SLASH & BURN
Series:  Bullet #5
Author:  Jade C. Jamison
Publish Date:   01.19.15
Publisher:  Jade C. Jamison
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Jade C. Jamison (in exchange for an honest review/Beta reading)
Date completed:  01.08.15
Goodreads link: Slash & Burn

Description from the publisher:

Is theirs a match made in heaven…or hell?

Nick Channing, drummer for Fully Automatic, has never taken relationships seriously. He’s had fun and met dozens of women—mostly one-night stands—and he prefers it that way. From his parents to his friends, he’s witnessed love and relationships firsthand and believes women are nothing but a headache.

Nick, Brad, and Val team up again to launch her new band Val Hella. There’s one problem, though: they still need a bassist. They audition dozens of women, trying to find the perfect one and settle on Sabrina, known onstage simply as Sinna, a bad ass metal head who’s perfect for the band: pierced, tattooed, dressed in black from head to toe, and she handles her bass with precision. She is a force to be reckoned with and Nick is smitten.

When Nick gets her alone the first time to lay on the charm, he’s met with a coolness he’s never experienced. Sabrina is mysterious and thoroughly unimpressed with Nick and his behavior, and that’s when he decides he has to have her. As he falls headlong for her, he discovers her secrets, one dark shadow at a time. He thinks she loves him back, but he can’t be sure. By the time he’s completely down the rabbit hole, his heart’s so entangled, he fears he might not be able to save himself. Can she save him or will she wreck him for all time?


 This is the fifth novel in the Bullet series.  Each does stand alone, but it is better to read them in order.

Brad is encouraging and supporting Val in creating her band, Val Hella.  Nick has agreed to play drums, Brad is guitar, and Val is vocals, but they need a kick-ass bass and Val is hoping for a female for her band.  Enter Sabrina, Brina to her friends, Sinna on stage.  Nick is entranced and determined to peel back the layers to know her to the core.  Could she be the one to tame our favorite man of humor and sarcasm?  Can one hellion be good for another?

I have been chomping at the bit for this story.  Ya’all know I love the drummers and Nick is the quintessential man-whore, sarcastic, clowning drummer.  He hasn’t taken anything too seriously in years.  He certainly doesn’t believe in a relationship that lasts beyond the weekend, because experience has taught him not to trust in anyone but his bandmates for anything more than that.  That is until he meets Brina.  Suddenly, he’s sure he wants the whole package as long as it includes her.  Oh, but her package includes her girlfriend(s) too!  This girl keeps him on a bouncing leash and for once he is quite willing to Tigger along.

Do not expect that you know how this will end. You don’t; I didn’t, but I did love how it did end.

Once again, I was privileged to be a Beta reader for Jade Jamison.  As always she delivers a terrific story, a cast that immediate feels like friends you have known for years, and a totally metal delivery.  Looking forward to more and more from her.

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Other Books from Jade C. Jamison:
  • MADversary
  • Then Kiss Me
  • Stating His Case
  • Fabric of Night
  • Worst Mother
  • Old House
  • Finger Bang
  • Substitute Boyfriend 
  • Punctured, Bruised, and Barely Tattooed
  • Savage (coming soon)
Bullet series:
1.       Bullet
2.       Rock Bottom
3.       Feverish
4.       Fully Automatic
5.       Christmas Stalkings
6.       Slash & Burn
Nicki Sosebee Series:
1.       Got the Life
2.       Dead
3.       No Place to Hide
4.       Right Now
5.       One More Time
6.       Lost
7.       Innocent Bystander
8.       Blind
9.       Fake
10.   Lies (coming soon)
Tangled Web Series:
1.       Tangled Web: A Steamy Heavy Metal Novella
2.       Everything But
3.       Seal All Exits
4.       (not yet titled)
Wishes series:
1.       Be Careful What You Wish For
2.       Secret Wishes (not yet released)
3.       Carnal Wishes (not yet released)
4.       Dangerous Wishes (not yet released)

No comments:

Post a Comment