Monday, December 22, 2014


Series:  Dukes of War #1
Author:  Erica Ridley
Publish Date:   12.01.14
Publisher:  Intrepid Reads
Category /Genre:  Regency Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Intrepid Reads via NetGalley (in exchange for an honest review)
Date completed: 12.18.14

Description from the publisher:
Oliver York returns from war to find his father dead, his finances in arrears, and himself the new Earl of Carlisle. If he doesn't marry an heiress--and fast!--he and his tenants are going to be pitching tents down by the Thames. He definitely shouldn't be trading kisses with a penniless debutante... no matter how captivating she is!

Miss Grace Halton is in England just long enough to satisfy the terms of her dowry. But a marriage of convenience isn't as easy as she'd hoped. Back in America, her ailing mother needs medicine only Grace's dowry can afford. Which means the dashing earl she can't get out of her mind is the one man she can't let into her heart.

Regency-set Historical Romance Novel

Enjoy the emotional, laugh-out-loud first book in USA Today bestselling author Erica Ridley's new Dukes of War regency romance series!

The Dukes of War historical romance books in series order:
·         The Viscount's Christmas Temptation (#0.5)
·         The Earl's Defiant Wallflower (#1)
·         The Captain's Bluestocking Mistress (#2)
Join the official readers' group on Facebook!

This is the first full-length book in the Dukes of War story.  Though it does stand-alone very well, I would recommend reading them in order.

I love stories where the underdog not only wins, but stuns the competition.  Grace is called Macaroni by the snobs of the tonne (as in Yankee Doodle Dandy).  Most won’t say a single word to her, because she comes from America and though her grandparents may be rich, they are not aristocracy.  Oliver may be aristocracy, but he’s penniless and can’t really afford to pull in another stray who will not advance him in finding an heiress to salvage his earldom.

Laugh out loud moments, sighs, heart wrenching despair as Grace and Oliver strive to do what they must, while each is sure the other could be their true love.  Their story seemed so boxed up, I didn’t know how it was going to be pulled out of the fire or how the HEA I knew had to happen could be found.  I never doubted, I just didn’t know what to expect…my applause!  Though not a Christmas story or setting, right now it is the season (released in December 2014), and the solution is reminiscent of one of the first Christmas love stories I ever read, The Gift of the Magi by Henry O.

In the end, I was left with a tear upon my face – though even I am not sure if it was a tear of sappy happiness or frustration that I will have to wait until March for the next installment of this series!

Erica Ridley never fails to provide a story that will make me laugh, struggle, and cheer right along with the characters. 

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

The Dukes of War series:
  1. The Viscount’s Christmas Temptation
  2. The Earl’s Defiant Wallflower (coming 12.01.14)
  3. The Captain’s Bluestocking Mistress (March 2015)
  4. The Major’s Faux Fiancée (coming soon)
  5. The Brigadier’s Runaway Bride (coming soon)
  6. The Duke’s Accidental Wife (coming soon)
Other Books from Erica Ridley:
  • Too Wicked to Kiss
  • Too Sinful to Deny
  • Charmed
  • Midwinter Magic
  • Let It Snow
  • Dark Surrender



No comments:

Post a Comment