Thursday, January 1, 2015

ROCK BOTTOM by Jade C. Jamison

Series:  Bullet #2
Author:  Jade C. Jamison
Publish Date:   09.02.13
Publisher:  Jade C. Jamison
Category /Genre:  NA Romance

Recommended for:  18 + due to adult situations and sexual content 
Received from:  Jade C. Jamison (in exchange for an honest review) 
Date completed: 11.16.13 

Description from the publisher:  
Ethan Richards has fought depression and a host of other demons all his adult life, and it’s caused him to lose everything—his wife, his son, his friends, and he almost loses the one thing that means the most to him—his band. He hits rock bottom and believes there is no way out.

Enter Jenna McCormick, a feisty drug and alcohol counselor, a woman with her own share of troubles. She finds Ethan intriguing but keeps him at a distance while trying to help him face life without crutches. She feels a spark but denies it, knowing that a relationship with unstable Ethan could be dangerous for both of them.

Ethan knows what he wants, though, and isn’t used to being told no. Jenna isn’t willing to risk Ethan losing his tenuous grip on sobriety, however, and is prepared to deny her deeper feelings to help Ethan climb out of his hole, but he learns how to let go of his pain when he finds that someone is prepared to walk with him through the shadows. Can he convince Jenna that they should take a chance on love or will they forever deny their feelings in an effort to keep Ethan on the straight and narrow? ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is book two in the Bullet series.  These books need to be read in order.  Spoilers ahead for BULLET.  Please do not read this review unless you have read BULLET. 

Ethan Richards thinks he has already hit rock bottom when Val leaves him.  When he realizes that he is to blame, that's when rock bottom is real and he is ready to begin the fight for his future.  After several months in rehab, he has a psychiatrist, a psychologist, and a substance abuse counselor supporting his decision to remain sober.  His counselor, Jenna, has her own abuse issues to exercise and fears the relationship that seems inevitable with Ethan.  Charming Ethan pursues, but with gentleness and persistence.  Can these two damaged souls create a beautiful new beginning for themselves?

I know in BULLET a lot of people decided that Ethan was just a d-bag and didn't deserve a happily ever after.  Cheer for Brad and Val, right?  Yes, cheer for Brad and Val, but everyone deserves to be loved.  In this book, Ms. Jamison tackles substance abuse, clinical depression, and domestic violence in a no-nonsense, realistic format that will leave you reeling and then cheering.  I think she nailed it!  At times, I was on the edge of my seat and holding my breath to see what would happen next, but always wishing for the best.  Stay tuned for my review of FEVERISH.

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

Other Books from Jade C. Jamison:
  • MADversary
  • Then Kiss Me
  • Stating His Case
  • Fabric of Night
  • Worst Mother
  • Old House
  • Finger Bang
  • Substitute Boyfriend 
  • Punctured, Bruised, and Barely Tattooed
Bullet series:
  1. Bullet
  2. Rock Bottom
  3. Feverish
  4. Fully Automatic
  5. Christmas Stalkings
  6. Slash & Burn (not yet released)
Nicki Sosebee Series:
  1. Got the Life
  2. Dead
  3. No Place to Hide
  4. Right Now
  5. One More Time
  6. Lost
  7. Innocent Bystander
  8. Blind
  9. Fake
  10. Lies (coming soon)
Tangled Web Series:
  1. Tangled Web: A Steamy Heavy Metal Novella
  2. Everything But
  3. Seal All Exits
  4. (not yet titled)
Wishes series:
  1. Be Careful What You Wish For
  2. Secret Wishes (not yet released)
  3. Carnal Wishes (not yet released)
  4. Dangerous Wishes (not yet released)


originally posted 11.18.13 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books. 

No comments:

Post a Comment