Wednesday, December 31, 2014

GOT THE LIFE by Jade C. Jamison

Series:  Nicki Sosebee #1
Author:  Jade C. Jamison
Publish Date:  08.01.11
Publisher:  Jade C. Jamison
Category /Genre:  Romance
Recommended for:  18 + due to adult situations and sexual content
Received from:  Jade C. Jamison in exchange for an honest review
Date completed: 02.19.14
Goodreads link:  Got the Life
Description from the publisher:

Nicki Sosebee wants her first headline, but she doesn’t want it to read “Reporter found dead.”

Nicki Sosebee has been working low-paying jobs ever since she finished school, but now that she’s older, she wants more.  She’s a novice reporter trying to learn the ropes.  Just as she’s getting her career goals on track, though, her love life gets worse and worse.  Sure, she has no problems picking up good-looking guys for brief flings, but relationships?  Out of the question.  Maybe it’s because Sean, her gorgeous best friend, just can’t see her as more than a buddy.  So when Sean encourages her as she pursues her first headline-producing story, Nicki realizes that her life’s pretty sweet…if only she can live long enough to see tomorrow’s front page.

Warning: Not for the faint of heart!  This book contains explicit sex and naughty language.  Proceed with caution...if you dare.

The Nicki Sosebee series has been compared to Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series by more than one reader.
 Nicki Sosebee (sohs-bee) is a rookie reporter chasing her goal to have a front page headline.  She has the sexual ethics of a man and the mouth of a sailor.  At 30 years old, she's working three jobs, living a life of independence, and enjoying  one-night stands between boyfriends.  When she becomes part of the story she's chasing, she now has to worry about surviving it.
The guys she dates will always be boyfriends and nothing more, sometimes even less, because Nicki's heart wants Sean.  For example, she hooks up with Carlos, a one-night (extended into two) Latin lover who calls her "mi dulzura."  Doesn't "sweet thing" sound even cuter in another language?  Sean's been her best friend for most of her life, but each foray into making it something more ends in disaster, such as "the night that must never be mentioned again."  Even so, neither wants to lose their friendship and regularly set aside the hurts and jealousies. 
Alright, ya'all know that Jade is one of my favorite authors.  She even said she would claim me as a sister.  I have read the four books in the Bullet series and a couple of stand-alones.  I have promised her a whole week to catch up on as many of her older works as possible.  We agreed on the Nicki Sosebee series first, so I started with this one today.  I absolutely could not put this down.  I am sitting here looking at page one of DEAD and reminding myself that this review has to be written before I can continue reading.  This is always a problem for me, just because I do love reading so much.  It is especially difficult for me today, because I know I have seven more books in this series (and #9 will be released soon after I complete these).  I'm hoping to complete the eight I have in time for the cover reveal of FAKE on February 24th.
For all of the time that I have been following Jade, I have been pronouncing Nicki's last name incorrectly.  Since we who have done so are made fun of in the book, I am challenging Jade to pronounce MY last name!  She has three days, and then I'll open it to all of you.  Perhaps there will be a prize!!
The first person to get it right (who doesn't know me IRL) will win a copy of any of Jade's books on Kindle from me.  If you have them all, you can bank it until FAKE is released.

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

Other Books from Jade C. Jamison:
  • MADversary
  • Then Kiss Me
  • Stating His Case
  • Fabric of Night
  • Worst Mother
  • Old House
  • Finger Bang
  • Substitute Boyfriend 
  • Punctured, Bruised, and Barely Tattooed
Bullet series:
  1. Bullet
  2. Rock Bottom
  3. Feverish
  4. Fully Automatic
  5. Christmas Stalkings
  6. Slash & Burn (not yet released)
Nicki Sosebee Series:
  1. Got the Life
  2. Dead
  3. No Place to Hide
  4. Right Now
  5. One More Time
  6. Lost
  7. Innocent Bystander
  8. Blind
  9. Fake
  10. Lies (coming soon)
Tangled Web Series:
  1. Tangled Web: A Steamy Heavy Metal Novella
  2. Everything But
  3. Seal All Exits
  4. (not yet titled)
Wishes series:
  1. Be Careful What You Wish For
  2. Secret Wishes (not yet released)
  3. Carnal Wishes (not yet released)
  4. Dangerous Wishes (not yet released)

originally posted 02.19.14 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books.  

bonus:  Jade did not pronounce my name correctly and the prize is still unclaimed - can you pronounce "Moench?"  Comment on this page for your chance.

No comments:

Post a Comment