Monday, December 15, 2014


Series:  Bryant Brothers #1
Author:  Hilary Storm
Publish Date:   12.08.14
Publisher:  Hilary Storm
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance, Suspense Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Hilary Storm (in exchange for an honest review)
Date completed: 12.09.14
Goodreads link:  DON’T CLOSE YOUR EYES

Description from the publisher:
My life ended the day I answered the door and found out James had died. Writing has become my only release and secluding myself from the people who constantly judge me for my way of grieving has made me famous. I'm not ready to love again, in fact it's not even a thought.

Someone needs to tell that to Liam. He's breaking through all of the walls I've worked so hard to create. How can one man be so intriguing? He just gets me, maybe a little too well.

This is the first book in Hilary Storm’s new Bryant Brothers series.  They will need to be read in order.

Olivia has been widowed, left behind when James, a police officer, was killed on the job.  For the last year she has cut herself off from everyone and everything.  She finds solace in seclusion.  What started as journaling to work through her grief, has become a career as a romance author.  While traveling to attend her first fan event, she meets Liam.  Soon Liam is breaking down the walls built to protect her heart from any relationship and romance isn’t even a thought until she meets him.

I thought this was an amazing story.  I laughed and cried right alongside of Olivia.  The last few chapters had me actually holding my breath waiting for the outcome. 

I’ve often talked about how a book will keep me on the treadmill longer than normal.  This was one of those books that I could have walked for hours to read.  When I finally noticed my time, I still didn’t want to put it down to do my other exercises.  I fell asleep with my tablet on my chest because I refused to acknowledge the need to sleep.  I woke up and finished the last few chapters (holding my breath most of the time as I mentioned before) and didn’t care that I then had to rush around to get to work on time.  It was absolutely worth it!  The title is perfect, the cover is perfect, and the story is perfect, not to mention the off-the-charts lust and love.

I am now saying daily prayers for Hilary to have a drama free real life.  I need the next book.  Repeat after me:  “Dear Lord, please provide a no-drama-zone around Hilary Storm in her real life, so that we can get the next drama in the Bryant Brothers series.  Amen.”  Thank you.

Grammar/editing:  ungraded / unedited ARC

Bryant Brothers Series:
            1.      Don’t Close Your Eyes 
            2.       (not yet named)
Rebel Walking series:
  1. In a Heartbeat
  2. Heaven Sent
  3. Banded Together
  4. No Strings Attached
  5. Hold Me Closer
  6. Fighting the Odds

No comments:

Post a Comment