Saturday, September 24, 2016


Series:  The Ascendant #1
Author:  Raine Thomas
Publish Date:   04.08.14
Publisher:  Iambe Books, LLC
Category /Genre:  Sci-Fi, Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect
Received from:  Raine Thomas (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: Return of the Ascendant
Date completed: 04.11.14

Description from the publisher:
Expecting to enjoy another typical college night at a frat party with friends, Kyra Vaughn’s plans derail when she’s almost killed…twice. Her savior, a tall, sexy stranger who calls himself TaeDane, claims that he’s the personal bodyguard for the Ascendant of Alametria. She’s convinced he’s crazy.

Especially when he insists that she’s the Ascendant.

With dark enemies hunting her down, Kyra has no choice but to trust her supposed bodyguard. Ty vows to help her remember her past and return her safely to Alametria, but someone seems intent on interfering, challenging his abilities at every turn.

As Kyra’s memories emerge, she remembers that Ty is more to her than he’s let on…much more than he’s allowed to be.

She’ll also discover that there are many things about her planet and herself that she’d rather forget. In the end, she’ll have to make a choice: cling to the life she knows, or risk it all to become the person she’s destined to be.


This is book one in The Ascendent series.  It does stand-alone (no cliffhanger), but you’re going to want to read more.  If I could give a standing ovation to a book, this one would have me jumping up and down and screaming for an encore.  Oh, wait!  There IS an encore coming!!

I only said yes to reading this because it was from Raine.  If anybody else had asked me if I wanted to read about Alien Romance, I would have said, “No, thank you.”  I am SO glad I did not pass this up.  Ty is the perfect bodyguard/boyfriend.  He is literally in pain to love his girl and endures it willingly for her.  The villain is deliciously evil (I kept picturing Jafar from Disney’s Aladdin.)

I will not miss the next book in the series and have got to read more from Ms. Thomas.  She is an author who never disappoints in providing a great story with characters you will love or love to hate.

The Ascendant series:
1.     Return of the Ascendant
2.     Rout of the Dem-Shyr (release date not yet available)
Also from Raine Thomas:
  • Meant for Her
Daughters of Saraqael Series:
1.    Becoming
2.    Central
3.    Foretold
Firstborn Series:
1.       Defy
2.       Shift
3.       Elder



<<<   RAFFLECOPTER   >>>

Originally posted 04.13.2014 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment