Thursday, September 29, 2016

A MATE'S BITE by Milly Taiden

Series:  Sassy Mates #2
Author:  Milly Taiden
Publish Date:   01.18.14
Publisher:  Latin Goddess Press
Category:  Paranormal romance, Interracial romance, Romantic Comedy
Recommended for:  18+ due to graphic sex and violence
Grammar/editing:  B – a few small errors
Received from:  Milly Taiden (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads:  A Mate’s Bite
Date completed: 01.21.14

Description from the publisher:
Mission: Don't fall in love
After an explosive night of passion during a scenting ceremony, Karla Alves is sure she was just a one night stand for the man she'd been crushing on for years. She teased him and pleased him, and Nate hasn't been around since. Her fear of becoming clingy kept her from risking her heart and asking for more than a few hours of skin sin.

Mission: Crack her walls
She. Is. His. Nathan Wolfe marked Karla. His mate. Deeply involved in pack politics, Nate has had to stay away. When his sister warns that Karla needs him more than he thinks, he'll discover a bundle of secrets only his wolf can sniff out. But getting the woman he cares about to let down her guard may prove to be his undoing.

Mission: Embrace the bite
With Karla's wayward sister wreaking havoc and friends needing more of his time than ever, Nate will have to rearrange his priorities if he ever hopes to earn Karla's trust. But will time with her be enough? Only true love and a wolf's promise can hold together a relationship created with a bite, a scenting, and a hope for tomorrow.

Mature reader warning: Adult content including but not limited to: Violence and raw sexual language and actions.

This is the second in the Sassy Mates series.  In the first book, SCENT OF A MATE, we are introduced to Ellie Wolfe and her family, including her four brothers who are called “the sexy four” by Ellie and her friends.  This time Ellie’s friend, Karla and her brother Nathan are featured.

On the night of the scenting ceremony, Aric and Jordon aren’t the only ones destined to begin their journeys.  Nate has also finally made the move to claim the woman he has loved for seven years.  After the ceremony, Nate is so involved in pack politics and protecting his family that he isn’t spending time with Karla.  Karla’s experience has taught her that men don’t stick around, so she assumes that their night of passion at the ceremony was just a fantastic one-night stand with the man she had been crushing on for years.  Nate has his work cut out for him to prove that he is her mate, that he will be there for her, and that real men don’t just ‘love them and leave them.’ 

We are only two books in, but I love this series.  I love getting lost in the little world that Ms. Taiden has created in which humans and werewolves are co-existing.  Mrs. Wolfe, mom to Ellie and the boys, is quickly becoming my favorite character.  She cooks, she bakes, and she is ultra-protective of all in her care.  She is like June Cleaver with a serious bite!  Karla and Nate are so great together, sarcastic, funny, and mega, steamy hot.  This is not a fluffy romance.  It is down and dirty, passionate, and explosive.  Add in the werewolf politics that is infringing on their community and the story just races along.  Buckle in and enjoy the ride, because it is a fun one!

I mentioned a theme for SCENT OF A MATE:  sometimes the best part of your family is the part you chose to include in your heart.  In A MATE’S BITE, I would say the theme is:  Your past does not dictate your future, or, more succinctly, your *mother’s* past does not dictate *your* future. 

Favorite scene:

 The Sassy Mates series:
1.     Scent a Mate
2.     A Mate’s Bite
Also from Milly Taiden:
  • Wynter’s Captive
  • Fate’s Wish
  • Halloween Heat III
  • Halloween Heat M/F
  • Caught by the Alpha (coming soon)
Federal Paranormal Unit Series:
    1. Wolf Protector
    2. Dangerour Protector (coming soon)
Black Meadow Pack Series:
    1. Sharp Change
    2. Caged Heat
Alpha Project Series:
    1. Wolf Fever
Nome de Plume, April Angel:          
           ·        Stranded Temptation
           ·        Party Crasher
           ·        The April Angel Collection
           ·        Surprised by Seduction 
           ·        An Unexpected Chance (coming soon)
Wounded Soldiers Series:
1.        A Hero’s Pride
2.        A Hero Scarred
3.        A Hero’s Temptation (coming soon)
4.        A Hero’s Surrender (coming soon)
Sizzling Encounters Series:
1.        Mr. Buff
2.        Wicked Valentine
3.        Lucky Break




Originally posted 01.26.2014 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment