Thursday, July 28, 2016

SINFUL SECRETS by Samantha Holt

Series:  Cynfell Brothers #7
Author:  Samantha Holt
Publish Date:   07.10.2016
Publisher:  Samantha Holt
Category /Genre:  Historical Romance

Grammar/editing:  book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Samantha Holt  (in exchange for an honest review)

Goodreads link: Sinful Secrets

Date completed: 07.13.2016

Description from the publisher:
Lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride. The Cynfell brothers are the very embodiment of a sinful existence. But could the right woman change that?


The elusive youngest Cynfell is the only bachelor remaining. And Gideon intends to keep it that way. After having first-hand knowledge of just how fragile his parents' marriage was, he isn't interested in women for anything more than a brief dalliance.

However, Cleo Talbot is set to change that.

Friends from childhood, Gideon and Cleo had always enjoyed an easy relationship. Until she became engaged to a fool of a man. Gideon can't help it. He's enraged that she should lower herself to marrying the idiot.

Cleo is hardly pleased to be engaged to Niall Harper either. He's harmless enough, but after saying yes, regret kicks in quickly. Why did she let herself be pushed into such a match? Could ruination really be so bad? And why is Gideon suddenly so interested in her wedding plans?

When it becomes clear that her harmless fiancé is not so innocent after all, Gideon and Cleo must join forces to ensure she's not forced into marrying him. With the help of a person from Gideon's past--one that means he has to acknowledge the lie he's been living--and his brothers, can they bring the criminal to justice or will Gideon and Cleo be left with many regrets, knowing that perhaps they were more than good friends after all?
Sinful Secrets is the final book the in Cynfell Brothers series. All stories are stand-alone and don't necessarily have to be read in order but it is recommended. Book 1, Sinful Confessions can be read for free on Amazon.


This is the seventh, and final, book in the Cynfell Brothers series.  It does stand alone, but I still very much recommend reading them all and in the order of publication.

The seventh deadly sin is Pride – Gideon Cynfell.  Gideon’s pride has been hurt; some may even say his pride has been tortured and left him feeling alienated and alone.  Poor Gideon; I wanted to just hug and him and tell him that it’s not as bad as he has built it up in his mind to be.

His best friend from childhood is Cleo.  Growing up in the country with only boys as neighbors, she was allowed to be a bit of a tomboy until her debutante year.  Now, on the verge of being heralded as a spinster, she has instead accepted the proposal of another childhood friend, Niall Harper.  Niall seems like the world champion stick-in-the-mud, milquetoast bore of all time, but he has a secret that would bring more scandal to their marriage than being left as a spinster would do to Cleo and her family.  Gideon has allowed pride to define him until now, but sometimes jealousy is more powerful and can be a positive force.  Ultimately, he has to set aside pride and jealousy in order to secure Cleo’s safety and his own.

I love how Samantha Holt writes such different characters.  Each has such fully developed personalities.  Just thinking the name Niall now gives me the slimy feeling – as it should from this character!  Cleo and Gideon are just so right for one another in so many ways that it felt inevitable once he let go and allowed her light to shine on him.

On one hand, I am sad to say good-bye to the Cynfell family; on the other, I am looking forward to what great adventure will next spring from the mind and keyboard of Samantha Holt.

The Cynfell Brothers series:
  1. Sinful Confessions
  2. Sinful Deeds
  3. Sinful Liaisons
  4. Sinful Cravings
  5. Sinful Possession
  6. Sinful Temptations
  7. Sinful Secrets
Also from Samantha Holt:
·         The Crimson Castle
·         A Summer Siege
·         The Sexy Bartender’s Virtual Seduction
·         Buckle Down
·         Eden’s Fire
·         Not Another Soldier
·         Her Dream Cowboy
·         Hunting His Highland Lass
·         Alrek
·         Too Much to Lose
·         Tempting His Mistress
·         Once Upon a Rake
·         Christmas Seduction
·         Kissed at Midnight
·         The Warrior’s Reward
Highland Fae Chronicles:
       1.      To Steal a Highlander’s Heart
       2.      To Dream of a Highlander
       3.      To Avenge Her Highland Warrior
The One Knight Collection:
       1.      One Knight
       2.      Black Knight
       3.      White Knight
       4.      Highland Knight
Borderland Legacy:
       1.      Borderland Bride
       2.      Borderland Beauty
       3.      Borderland Betrayal


No comments:

Post a Comment