Sunday, August 16, 2015

SHIFTIN' SASSY by T.J. Michaels

Series:  PRYDE RANCH #4
            A Southern Shifters Kindle World novella
Author:  T.J. Michaels
Publish Date:   08.09.2015
Publisher:  Kindle Worlds
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance, Fan Fiction
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  T.J. Michaels (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: Shiftin’ Sassy
Date completed: 08.16.15

Description from the publisher:
Derria, like her cousins at Pryde Ranch, is trained to take down the worst shifters imaginable. After chasing her bounty into the Tail of the Dragon, she discovers that this mountain gem is shifter central where they've managed to keep themselves off the world's radar...until now.

Lakota Phillips keeps his status as a S.W.A.T. agent under wraps. No one from Clan Gunn in the Dragon knows what he does when he's away from this place. But when a fellow agent shows up for reasons that make sense to no one, what is he to do?

But that may have to wait. Kerr Blackwood, the rogue they're searching for, is a shifter from Lakota's neck of the woods. And suddenly, Derria's hunt doesn't quite pass the smell test.

Warning: This book contains hot alphas, mating heat and women who stroke their guns. Bring it on, baby!

This is the fourth book in the Pryde Ranch series.  It does stand on its own, though now I’m curious about the rest of the pride…, but it also has a cliff-hanger.  The primary conflict (why she’s chasing the rogue, Kerr, is not resolved), but it is an excellent introduction to all of the characters and I didn’t feel cheated by it ending where it did.

This is also a novella in the Southern Shifters Kindle World, set in the Tail of the Dragon area in the Southern Appalachian Mountains.  In this world, this book also stands alone and does not need any other knowledge, though there are references to other story lines that have me clamoring for more!

I have to share my favorite statement from Lakota.  “Derria is one of the most capable women I know.  If she could get here and ambush you alone, trust me, she’ll be fine.  Besides, the newly healed claw marks on my chest from just this morning are a reminder that when I get the urge to try to control her, it’s best to change my mind.”

That about sums up Derria.  She is doing her job and nobody, not even a mate, will get in her way.  I loved that she immediately recognizes the mate bond and doesn’t fight it….the first time around.

Kerr is the mystery man running from Derria with no idea why he is being chased.  He is hot and alpha.  I fell in love with him on page one even if he was the “bad guy.”

Lakota (‘Kota to his friends) is a basketful of secrets, but everything changes when he meets Derria.  He is also hot and alpha.  From first sight, he is devoted to making Derria’s life easier and more comfortable, whether that means tracking a rogue or finding her a place to lie down at night.   

If they were food, Lakota would be dark chocolate, Kerr a cinnamon caramel, and Derria the cherry whip that brings them all together.  Now I’m hungry for more of them, more Southern Shifters, and a special chocolate, caramel, cherry treat!  If you’re looking for me, I’ll be in the kitchen with a wooden spoon in one hand and my Kindle in the other.

Grammar/editing:  B – a few small errors

The Southern Shifters series:
  1. Dirty Sexy Furry (Eliza Gayle)
  2. Mate Night (Eliza Gayle)
  3. Alpha Knows Best (Eliza Gayle)
  4. Bad Kitty (Eliza Gayle)
  5. Be WERE (Eliza Gayle)
  6. Shiftin’ Dirty (Eliza Gayle)
Impawsible (Celia Kyle)
Scents & Scentability (Heather Long)
Bear Sentry (Ruby Shae)
Lion for Her (Brandy Walker)
Bearly Dreaming (Ellis Leigh)
Furever After (Michelle Fox)
Dangerous Prey (Erika Mastern)
Bear ‘N Dirty (Vella Day)
Werelock (Mina Carter)
Shiftin’ Sassy (T.J. Michael)
The Pryde Ranch series:
1.      Spirit of the Pryde
2.      Niah’s Pride
3.      Pursuit of Pride and Pleasure
4.      Shiftin’ Sassy
Other Books from T.J. Michaels:
  • Jaguar’s Rule
  • Forever December
  • Egyptian Voyage
  • On the Prowl
  • Entwined Hearts
  • Shards of Ecstasy
  • Caramel Kisses
  • Hide No More
Vampire Council of Ethics Series:
1.      Carinian’s Seeker
2.      Serati’s Flame
3.      Hatsept Heat
4.      Seeker’s Solace
Seals of Destiny Series:
1.      Silk Road
Twilight Teahouse Series:
1.      Juicy
2.      Luscious
3.      Succulent

No comments:

Post a Comment