Saturday, May 13, 2017

CLAIMED BEAR by Aurora Woodlove

Series:  Lured by Fire #1
Author:  Aurora Woodlove
Publish Date:   05.06.2017
Publisher:  Aurora Woodlove
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  B – a few small errors
Received from:  Aurora Woodlove (as a gifted ARC)
Goodreads link: Claimed Bear
Date completed: 05.10.2017

Description from the publisher:
When curvy, sassy Janet Parker married Sean, the bear shifter who had her heart, she expected to experience the fairy tale everyone talked about. A year later, and she is more stressed than she’s ever been and has no idea what to do about that.

Sean Spike got all he wanted from life and more challenges than he needed when he met and then married Janet, his fated mate. Her decision to stay human hadn’t bothered him until it started draining the life out of him when he was away from her. Now that his mate is so shut down she barely sleeps, eats, or touches him, he’s got a bigger problem.

Something has to change; so, Sean is trying to come up with solutions. Will a holiday in the Bahamas solve their problems or will it make matters worse?

This book was written as the PROLOGUE to Aurora Woodlove’s new series “Lured by Fire” and it can be read as a standalone with NO cliffhangers and a "happy for now" ending.

Also, because it features the characters in Janet and the Bear (Shifting Impulse Book 3), it can be read as PART TWO to their story.

It contains explicit language and sizzling hot scenes that might set your Kindle on fire. Intended for readers 18+.

CLAIMED BEAR is the first book in the Lured by Fire series, but it is also the second part of Janet and Sean’s story which started in book three of the Shifting Impulse series.  Though it stands on its own apart from the previous series, I recommend reading all of them.  This is the beginning of a new adventure.  One I’m sure I will enjoy with Aurora Woodlove taking the role as my guide.

Because Janet has not wanted to become a bear, she and Sean are experiencing a very quick disconnect in their marriage and it is bleeding over into everything that they do.  The good news is that they both realize it and want to do something about it.  Part of me kept saying, “Wouldn’t it be easier to just take the bite and become a bear?”  Of course, that would be easy, but where would the story go? 

I especially love the support that Sean shows to Janet, in her professional life and in everything she does.  For example, when she subdued a purse-snatcher, he didn’t get bent out of shape with alpha-macho wounded pride.  They celebrated together – and that’s what being a true couple is all about.

I’m looking forward to where Aurora Woodlove takes us, the bears, and the humans who are going to love them.

Note:  while I was given this book as an ARC copy, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Lured by Fire series:
  1. Claimed Bear
Shifting Impulses series:
          1.      Anna and the Bear
          2.      Celine and the Bear
          3.      Janet and the Bear
          4.      Bearly Furgotten
          5.      Christmas Mate

No comments:

Post a Comment