Thursday, December 29, 2016


Series:  Wicked Witches of the Midwest #1
Author:  Amanda M. Lee
Publish Date:   12.12.2012
Publisher:  Winchester Shaw Publications
Category /Genre:  Paranormal, Mystery
Recommended for: 14+ (may be too scary for younger)
Grammar/editing:  C – needs more editing; distracting
Received from:  Amazon purchase
Goodreads link: Any Witch Way You Can
Date completed: 12.15.2015

Description from the publisher:
Bay Winchester is having a tough week.

As the local editor of Hemlock Cove's only newspaper, she just happens to be present when a body is found in an area corn maze. To make matters worse, the police believe the murder may have something to do with the occult.

This wouldn't be a problem for a normal reporter, but since Bay is descended from a well-known line of actual witches, the town is understandably on edge.

Between the suspicious townspeople, the befuddled police presence and that random hot biker guy that may or may not have something to do with the murder -- Bay has her hands full.

When you add the typical family problems, multiplying ghosts -- and one monster of a zit that she's sure came from her aunt's curse -- Bay is just struggling to make it through the week.
Of course, when the killer sets his sights on Bay, things could get a whole lot worse.

Note: These books are full of sarcasm and are a little bit snarky -- so read only if you like to laugh and you aren't easily offended. This is the first book in the Wicked Witches of the Midwest mystery series.

This is the 1st book in the Wicked Witches of the Midwest series.  Though each pretty much stands on its own, I would recommend reading in the order of release.

First I read it, and then I listened to it on Audible on my way to/from work.  Both were enjoyable and filled me with giggles, though the audio version may have been better for me since the ebook was still full of grammar errors that could be distracting.  (For example, to, too, and two all sound the same even if they aren’t spelled right on the page!)

The characters are all engaging and the story is entertaining and well-written. 

I sincerely hope I am invited to read more from Ms. Lee.  Her ability to write sarcasm that doesn’t come off as anything else is superb.

The Wicked Witches of the Midwest series:
  1. Any Witch Way You Can
  2. Every Witch Way But Wicked
  3. Witching You Were Here
  4. Witching on a Star
  5. Something to Witch About
  6. Careful What You Witch For
  7. Wicked Brew
  8. Witch Me Luck
  9. Witchy Tales
  10. On a Witch and a Prayer
  11. You Only Witch Once
  12. Life’s a Witch
  13. The Christmas Witch
Other Books from Amanda M. Lee:
The Avery Shaw Mysteries:
  1. Who, What, Where, When, Die
  2. If It Bleeds, It Leads
  3. Buried Leads
  4. Shot Off the Presses
  5. The Preditorial Page
  6. Misquoted & Demoted
  7. Headlines & Deadlines
The Covenant College Mysteries:
  1. Awakening
  2. Whispering
  3. Conjuring
  4. Waxing & Waning
  5. Graduating
The Aisling Grimlock series:
  1. Grim Tidings
  2. Grim Offerings
  3. Grim Discovery
The Living Covenant Trilogy (coming 2016):
  1. Rising Covenant (June 2016)
  2. Dark Covenant (July 2016)
  3. Eternal Covenant (August 2016)
The Dying Covenant Trilogy (coming 2017):
  1. Haunted Covenant (June 2017)
  2. Desperate Covenant (July 2017)
  3. Everlasting Covenant (August 2017)



No comments:

Post a Comment