Saturday, December 31, 2016


Series:  Shifter Christmas #0.5
Author:  J.L. Hendricks
Publish Date:   11.01.2016
Publisher:  J.L. Hendricks
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance, Short-story
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect
Received from:  J.L. Hendricks (as a gifted copy)
Goodreads link: Santa Meets Mrs. Claus
Date completed: 12.20.16

Description from the publisher:
Ever wonder why no one has seen Santa Claus? One of the reasons is that he is an Arctic Wolf Shifter!

How does Santa find his Mrs. Claus? It's not like he can "Swipe Left" and meet the perfect girl!

Get your free copy and find out these answers while you enjoy a bit of Christmas excitement as a rival pack makes a play for Santa's job!

I just finished this wonderful short story filled with Christmas magic and love and I have such heart-felt tears of joy in my eyes.

SANTA MEETS MRS. CLAUS is the first book in the Shifter Christmas series.  They will need to be read in the order of release, though this does stand on its own (no cliffhanger).

 I thought this was a delightfully different explanation for the mysteries about Santa.  Why can’t we find his house at the North Pole?  How does Santa exist for centuries?  Who is Mrs. Claus?  I encourage you to pick up your free copy and discover the Christmas world that J.L. Hendricks has created.

It is one of my Christmas wishes to receive a copy of the next book in this series.  I love the question posed and I’m insanely curious to find the answer that Ms. Hendricks has devised.

Note:  while I was given this book as a gifted copy, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Shifter Christmas series:
  1. Santa Meets Mrs. Claus
  2. Miss Claus and the Secret Santa
Also from J.L. Hendricks:
Interdimensional Saga Series:
0.5 The Eclipse of the Beginning
            1.      Eclipse of the Warrior
            2.      Eclipse of the Soul
            3.      The Eclipse of Power
            4.      Eclipse of the Heart
            5.      Age of the Eclipse
Origins of the Eclipse Series:
            1.      The Eclipse of Time
Alpha Alien Abduction Series:
            1.      Worlds Away
            2.      Worlds Collide
            3.      Worlds Entwined (Dec 2016)


Thursday, December 29, 2016


Series:  Wicked Witches of the Midwest #1
Author:  Amanda M. Lee
Publish Date:   12.12.2012
Publisher:  Winchester Shaw Publications
Category /Genre:  Paranormal, Mystery
Recommended for: 14+ (may be too scary for younger)
Grammar/editing:  C – needs more editing; distracting
Received from:  Amazon purchase
Goodreads link: Any Witch Way You Can
Date completed: 12.15.2015

Description from the publisher:
Bay Winchester is having a tough week.

As the local editor of Hemlock Cove's only newspaper, she just happens to be present when a body is found in an area corn maze. To make matters worse, the police believe the murder may have something to do with the occult.

This wouldn't be a problem for a normal reporter, but since Bay is descended from a well-known line of actual witches, the town is understandably on edge.

Between the suspicious townspeople, the befuddled police presence and that random hot biker guy that may or may not have something to do with the murder -- Bay has her hands full.

When you add the typical family problems, multiplying ghosts -- and one monster of a zit that she's sure came from her aunt's curse -- Bay is just struggling to make it through the week.
Of course, when the killer sets his sights on Bay, things could get a whole lot worse.

Note: These books are full of sarcasm and are a little bit snarky -- so read only if you like to laugh and you aren't easily offended. This is the first book in the Wicked Witches of the Midwest mystery series.

This is the 1st book in the Wicked Witches of the Midwest series.  Though each pretty much stands on its own, I would recommend reading in the order of release.

First I read it, and then I listened to it on Audible on my way to/from work.  Both were enjoyable and filled me with giggles, though the audio version may have been better for me since the ebook was still full of grammar errors that could be distracting.  (For example, to, too, and two all sound the same even if they aren’t spelled right on the page!)

The characters are all engaging and the story is entertaining and well-written. 

I sincerely hope I am invited to read more from Ms. Lee.  Her ability to write sarcasm that doesn’t come off as anything else is superb.

The Wicked Witches of the Midwest series:
  1. Any Witch Way You Can
  2. Every Witch Way But Wicked
  3. Witching You Were Here
  4. Witching on a Star
  5. Something to Witch About
  6. Careful What You Witch For
  7. Wicked Brew
  8. Witch Me Luck
  9. Witchy Tales
  10. On a Witch and a Prayer
  11. You Only Witch Once
  12. Life’s a Witch
  13. The Christmas Witch
Other Books from Amanda M. Lee:
The Avery Shaw Mysteries:
  1. Who, What, Where, When, Die
  2. If It Bleeds, It Leads
  3. Buried Leads
  4. Shot Off the Presses
  5. The Preditorial Page
  6. Misquoted & Demoted
  7. Headlines & Deadlines
The Covenant College Mysteries:
  1. Awakening
  2. Whispering
  3. Conjuring
  4. Waxing & Waning
  5. Graduating
The Aisling Grimlock series:
  1. Grim Tidings
  2. Grim Offerings
  3. Grim Discovery
The Living Covenant Trilogy (coming 2016):
  1. Rising Covenant (June 2016)
  2. Dark Covenant (July 2016)
  3. Eternal Covenant (August 2016)
The Dying Covenant Trilogy (coming 2017):
  1. Haunted Covenant (June 2017)
  2. Desperate Covenant (July 2017)
  3. Everlasting Covenant (August 2017)



Tuesday, December 27, 2016


Series:  N/A
Author:  Harley Rayne
Publish Date:   09.18.16
Publisher:  Enamored Ink
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance - MC
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  book received as an unedited ARC  / errors excused
Received from:  Harley Rayne (as an ARC gifted copy)
Date completed: 09.25.2016

Description from the publisher:
Kate Lowe knew better.

She knew she should never let Memphis Black crash at her house while he was on the run from a rival biker gang. But how do you say no to someone you’ve known—and cared about—your entire life?

So what if Memphis is the leader of the Hell Hounds motorcycle gang? He’s trying to do the right thing and keep the Brothers of Chaos from opening up shop as gun smugglers in their small, sleepy town. But when the Brothers decide that their operation would go smoother with Memphis out of the picture, Kate has no choice but to let him hide out at her place…no matter how much danger it puts her in, and no matter how hard those long-buried feelings of attraction for him fight their way to the surface.

BONUS Book Included! Double Take: A Money Man Romance , a full-length novel featuring the adult film industry's BIGGEST male star! (Included at the end of this book).

RENEGADE ROOMMATE is a stand-alone romance.  More is the pity – I would love to see this made into a series.  If I were to pick who to explore in book two, I would choose Rollins – where did he come from?  Why did he….?

I really loved the story, but it took me a long time to warm up to Memphis.  Since he’s a bad boy, maybe that’s a good thing for my own “good girl” reputation.  It took me even longer to like Kate - her OCD was giving me ADHD!  The long warm ups to both of them was worth it. 

Ms. Rayne has written a wonderfully suspenseful romance.  I look forward to reading more of her stories.

Note:  while I was given this book as an ARC copy, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Also from Harley Rayne:
  • Double Take (A Leading Man Romance)