Sunday, April 2, 2017

LORD OF CHANCE by Erica Ridley

Series:  Rogues to Riches #1
Author:  Erica Ridley
Publish Date:   04.11.2017
Publisher:  WebMotion
Category /Genre:  Historical Romance,
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect
Received from:  Erica Ridley, through NetGalley
Date completed: 03.26.2017
Goodreads link:  Lord of Chance

Description from the publisher:
Disguised as a country miss, Charlotte Devon flees London, desperate to leave her tattered reputation behind. In Scotland, her estranged father’s noble blood will finally make her a respectable debutante. Except she finds herself accidentally wed to a devil-may-care rogue with a sinful smile. He’s the last thing she needs…and everything her traitorous heart desires.

Charming rake Anthony Fairfax is on holiday to seek his fortune…and escape his creditors. When an irresistible Lady Luck wins him in a game of chance—and a slight mishap has them leg-shackled by dawn—the tables have finally turned in his favor. But when past demons catch up to them, holding on to new love will mean destroying their dreams forever.

The single title 2017 release is an expanded "Author Edition" of the story that first appeared in the Scandal's Daughters anthology.


Erica Ridley’s newest project, the Rogues to Riches series, has a Cinderella theme.  LORD OF CHANCE is the first of six books planned for release.

Absolutely brilliant!  Both Charlotte and Anthony hold the keys to be the prince – providing all that is needed to make the other’s dreams come true – and each is Cinderella in their own mind.  Aren’t we all? 

Each are living lives a hair-breadth away from scandal.  Well, actually, each has practically been born into scandal, but each is determined to make the world their own and rise above.  They just need the right bit of luck. 

Ms. Ridley provides the luck – good and bad – and sends us all on the roller coaster of chasing chance along with Anthony and Charlotte.  Now add in, we are treated to a bit of a peek back to our friends from the Dukes of War series, and this new series is a no-brainer for me.  I am already deeply captivated and anxiously awaiting the next episode when we will all fall in love with Lord Wainwright, an infamous rake who is about to learn the art of love is more than the art of love-making.

Note:  while I was given this book as a gifted ARC, through NetGalley, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Rogues to Riches Series:
          1.      Lord of Chance
          2.      Lord of Pleasure
          3.      Lord of Night
          4.      Lord of Temptation
          5.      Lord of Secrets
          6.      Lord of Vice
Also from Erica Ridley:
          ·         Romancing the Rogue
          ·         Let it Snow
          ·         Dark Surrender
Dukes of War Series:
          1.      The Viscount’s Christmas Temptation
          2.      The Earl’s Defiant Wallflower
          3.      The Captain’s Bluestocking Mistress
          4.      The Major’s Faux Fiancée
          5.      The Brigadier’s Runaway Bride
          6.      The Pirate’s Tempting Stowaway
          7.      The Duke’s Accidental Wife
          8.      All I Want


No comments:

Post a Comment