Monday, April 24, 2017


Series:  Gothic Historical Romance #2
Author:  Erica Ridley
Publish Date:  03.21.2017
Publisher:  WebMotion
Category /Genre:  Historical Fiction, Romance
Recommended for:  13+ clean romance
Grammar/editing:  A (near perfect)
Received from:  Erica Ridley via NetGalley (as an ARC gifted copy)
Goodreads link: Romancing the Rogue
Date completed: 04.09.17

Description from the publisher:
When the new earl inherits, poor relation Miss Rebecca Bond must wed immediately or be out on her ear. The only man she’s ever loved is summoned to hear the will—but he already rejected her so soundly that they haven’t spoken in years. Yet who better than a rakish Viscount to teach her how to snare a gentleman who appreciates her charms?

Daniel Goodenham, Lord North-Barrows, regrets nothing more than the lost friendship with the one woman who treated him like a man, not a title. Fate has given him the perfect pretext to win her forgiveness—even if it means having to matchmake her to someone else. But now that she’s back in his life, he’ll do anything to convince her to choose him instead...

Romancing the Rogue is a standalone gothic novella that first appeared in the Vexed anthology as part of the Haunting of Castle Keyvnor multi-author series.


This is the second book in the Gothic Historical Romance series, but each stands completely on their own with no cross-over.  Instead, there is mention of at least one character from the Dukes of War series.

My heart went out to Rebecca – orphaned twice – by her parents and now by the old earl, her guardian these last few years.  I wanted her to find friendship, companionship, and true love.  Enter Daniel – a young man who has allowed title and family to come between them before – will he make the same mistakes again?  Add in a few ghosts in the castle and it was totally my cup of tea!

I loved that in this story both of our main characters have been shown to mature and learn from their pasts.  They each long for the other, but are reluctant to dive in too quickly.  They each have a fear of rejection that must be laid to rest.  Ms. Ridley does a wonderful job of building their past and their present to allow them to regain the trust that is needed to bring them to where they both always wanted to be. 

This was a feel happy story that had me smiling for hours after I closed my Kindle.

Note:  while I was given this book as a gifted ARC via NetGalley, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Gothic Historical Romance series:
1.      Dark Surrender
2.      Romancing the Rogue
Also from Erica Ridley:
·         Too Wicked to Kiss
·         Too Sinful to Deny
·         Charmed
·         Midwinter Magic
·         Let It Snow
·         Never Been Bitten
The Dukes of War series:
1.      The Viscount’s Christmas Temptation
2.      The Earl’s Defiant Wallflower
3.      The Captain’s Bluestocking Mistress
4.      The Major’s Faux FiancĂ©e
5.      The Brigadier’s Runaway Bride
6.      The Pirate’s Tempting Stowaway
7.      The Duke’s Accidental Wife
8.      All I Want
Rogues to Riches series:
1.      Lord of Chance
2.      Lord of Pleasure (not yet released)
3.      Lord of Night (not yet released)
4.      Lord of Temptation (not yet released)
5.      Lord of Secrets (not yet released)
6.      Lord of Vice (not yet released)


Sunday, April 23, 2017

COMMANDER BEAR by Scarlett Grove

Series:  Bear Patrol #1
Author:  Scarlett Grove
Publish Date:   06.07.2016
Publisher:  Scarlett Grove
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  B (a few distracting errors)
Received from:  Amazon purchase
Goodreads link:  Commander Bear
Date completed: 04.22.2017

Description from the publisher:
Introducing an exciting new series by USA Today Bestselling Author Scarlett Grove!
Can a cop and a jewel thief find love on Fate Mountain?

She’s on his radar ...
Jaguar shifter Zoe Bright knows trouble. Growing up, she was the “bad kid” who could never measure up to her bear-shifter brother Corey -- and now she’s in debt to the mob. So the last thing she expects is for Corey’s matchmaking program to pair her up with Fate Mountain’s handsome, hunky chief of police!

He’s on her tail ...
Grizzly shifter Rollo Morris can’t believe his fated mate is almost certainly a jewel thief. Still, he and his bear know that curvy, sassy Zoe belongs to them. Pursuing her is a must … and interrogating her is the naughtiest thing he’s ever done.

And both of them are in the bullseye. 
When the mafia comes after Zoe, will she trust Rollo with her secrets? And even if she does, can he and the Bear Patrol find a way to solve the case and keep her safe?

Commander Bear is the first in the new Bear Patrol series, which is heavily tied to the Rescue Bears series.  Both series are set in and around Fate Mountain.

I have not read any of the previous Fate Mountain based books and I can tell you without a doubt that I was not lost.  On the other hand, I am now itching to search my TBR files to see which of these I have and which I need to download and get to reading!

Zoe is full of sass and class.  I loved her from the opening, even if she was the bad girl.  I kept expecting Rollo to start singing “Soft kitty, warm kitty, …,” but I loved his referring to Zoe as his little kitty right from the start.  It was endearing.

In an unexpectedly delightful departure from the usual in this genre, both the h and H are shifters, though of different animals.  Zoe fought the connection less than our more common human types, but the connection was recognized and appreciated more quickly and more deeply for what it was.

Scarlett Grove never fails to provide a story that will refresh my love for reading.  I look forward to reading many more of her sexy and sweet shifters.
Bear Patrol Series:
  1. Commander Bear
  2. Detective Bear
  3. Cadet Bear
  4. Tech Bear
  5. Deputy Bear
Also from Scarlett Grove
         ·         Mate for the Feral Barbarians
         ·         The Alpha’s Curse
         ·         Warrior Witch and Raven
         ·         Lion’s Halloween Baby
         ·         Alpha Fated:  Called by the Alpha
         ·         Cowboy Bear’s Christmas Surprise
Rescue Bears Series:
         1.      Chief Bear
         2.      Wild Bear
         3.      Big Bear
         4.      Brew Bear
         5.      Ski Bear
         6.      Geek Bear
The Spirit Moon series:
  1. Howl
  2. Crave
  3. Claimed
MacKenna Family Series:
         1.       This Mess We’re In
         2.       (not yet posted)
Elemental Dragons Series:
         1.      Fire Dragon’s Baby
         2.      Air Dragon’s Baby
Braving Darkness Series:
         1.      Marked by the Alpha Wolf (released in three books)
         2.      Touched by the Dragon Lord (released in three books)
         3.      Desired by the Archangel (released in two books)
Draconians Series:
         1.      Alien Commander’s Bride
         2.      Alien Warrior’s Mate
         3.      Alien Fighter’s Woman
         4.      Alien General’s Wife
         5.      Alien Architect’s Bride
Mystic Harbor Series:
         1.      Unbearably Stranded
         2.      Her Two Alphas
         3.      Cat Scratch Fever
         4.      His Lion Blood
Bear Wardens Series:
         1.      Bear Witness
         2.      Bearly Believing
         3.      His to Bear
Dragon Princes of Endor Series:
         1.      Taken
         2.      Changed
         3.      Choices
         4.      Merged
Midnight Sun Shifters Series:
         1.      Bear His Love
         2.      Bear His Baby