Tuesday, October 25, 2016

BEARLY FURGOTTEN by Aurora Woodlove

Series:  Shifting Impulses #4
Author:  Aurora Woodlove
Publish Date:   10.05.2016
Publisher:  Aurora Woodlove
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  book received as an unedited ARC  / errors excused
Received from:  Aurora Woodlove (as an ARC gifted copy)
Goodreads link: Bearly Furgotten
Date completed: 10.11.16

Description from the publisher:
Shifting Impulse is a club where shifters who don’t believe in fated mates find theirs. Nine years ago was Devin and Leon’s chance.

Thirty-year-old Devin Bennet, successful jeweler, adventurous hiker and single mother to a six-year-old hyperactive boy, takes her son to a survival camp on the other side of the country, expecting a relaxing, uneventful holiday.

Leon Whitman, bear shifter with a dying bear inside, adventurous explorer and mountain resort owner and manager, struggles with the guilt of losing his mate in a white-water rafting accident. Making the resort eco-friendly is Leon’s only interest and that leaves no time for his personal life.

That accident left Devin with no memory of the man she has a child with and Leon with nothing but his family business to live for. After being separated for seven years, will they be able to make their relationship work?

This is the 4th book in the Shifting Impulse series and it is a standalone with NO cliffhangers and a "happily ever after". It contains explicit language and sizzling hot scenes that might set your Kindle on fire. Intended for readers 18+.

This is the fourth book in the Shifting Impulses series.  Though each book does stand alone, there are cross-over characters whose stories continue to evolve.  I would definitely recommend reading the entire series and in the order of release.

I have loved this series so far and I am looking forward to reading much, much more from Aurora Woodlove.  She has created a shifter world that allows me to drift away from the dismal realities that life sometimes brings.  Unfortunately, this particular book felt incomplete at the end.  I know that we will be updated in future books and I’m sure the HEA is coming, but in this book it felt more like a happy-for-now.  Without giving away the story, I can only say that it seemed that Devin never allowed herself to fully embrace all that was being offered.

Okay, that’s the ugly.  The beautiful of this book is that it is a second chance romance.  It is definitely a story different from the others in this series (and unique among the genre).  I loved Leon so much that I wanted to throat punch Devin for holding back for even a minute!  He is so in love with her from page one to the end that I was aching for all that he had to hold back.  I want their HEA so badly. 

My final note:  do not miss this series.  Join me in the angst of waiting for the next installment.  Aurora Woodlove makes it all worth the wait.

Shifting Impulses series:
  1. Anna and the Bear
  2. Celine and the Bear
  3. Janet and the Bear
  4. Bearly Furgotten
  5. Christmas Mate (coming soon)

No comments:

Post a Comment