Tuesday, January 5, 2016


Series:  Knights of Avalon #2
Author:  Nina Mason
Publish Date:   01.05.2016
Publisher:  Lyrical Press
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance, Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Lyrical Press via NetGalley (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: Dark & Stormy Knight
Date completed: 11.29.15

Description from the publisher:

She’ll risk everything for their love—even her life.

Aspiring screenwriter Gwyn Morland is ready for her big break. That means securing the film rights to elusive author Lady Ruthven’s acclaimed novel—which means traveling to Scotland. It’s a trip timid Gwyn isn’t prepared for, and her fears seem justified when her tour bus careens over a cliff outside of Castle Glenarvon. But the plot thickens when Gwyn is rescued from the brink of death by a handsome and mysterious stranger…

Leith MacQuill is not only the writer behind Lady Ruthven’s novel, but a shape-shifting faery knight bearing a tragic curse: the woman he gives his heart to will die. Saving Gwyn proves to be a dangerous choice when he finds himself falling for her the longer she stays in the castle. Not even his usual BDSM role-playing games are enough to thwart the intense desire they feel for each other. But to stay together, Gwyn and Leith must embark on a dangerous mission into Avalon, the realm of the faeries. Will their love be strong enough to conquer the curse? Or will Gwyn’s new life be stolen from her before it’s even begun? 

This is the second book in the Knights of Avalon series.  Each will stand alone, but it will be best to read them in the order of publication because of the overlaying arc of the stories. 

I loved this story.  Gwyn has been a timid little mouse her entire life.  A history of abuse and neglect has had her finding her comfort by staying in the shadows.  My heart was wrapped around her as she fought to finally claim her place in the spotlight.  I cheered for her as she recognized that sometimes you can recognize the red flag and decide to be the bull.

Excellently written and researched, Nina Mason is amazing in her ability to weave history and fantasy in a seamless tapestry trimmed in romance.

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

The Knights of Avalon series:
  1. Starry Knight
  2. Dark and Stormy Knight
  3. Knight of Enchantment (coming soon)
Other Books from Nina Mason:
  • The Queen of Swords
  • The Tin Man
Royal Pains Series:
       1.      Devil in Duke’s Clothing
       2.      The Duke’s Bedeviled Bride
       3.      The Devil's Masquerade



No comments:

Post a Comment