Thursday, November 26, 2015

ON THE ROAD by Jade C. Jamison


Series:  Vagabonds # 2

Author:  Jade C. Jamison

Publish Date:   09.21.2015

Publisher:  Jade C. Jamison

Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content

Received from:  Jade C. Jamison (beta reading)

Goodreads link: On the Road

Date completed: 11.16.15

Description from the publisher:

All that glitters isn’t gold. Sometimes it’s plastic.

Kyle Summers hits the road with her band the Vagabonds, living the dream. Five young women are tossed into the limelight with little supervision, seemingly left to the wolves. Kyle is driven and headstrong, and—while she enjoys the temptations of sex and drugs on the road—music always comes first. In spite of her friends crumbling under the pressure and lack of support, the Vagabonds become a household name and enjoy success not experienced by people far beyond their years.

But Kyle realizes two things—one is that her relationships are hollow without love, but she and CJ, her main love interest, are only on-again, off-again at best, leaving her feeling unfulfilled. The second is that Kyle quickly grows weary of dealing with egos and prima donnas, and she feels helpless while watching her band fall apart.

Can she save her band—and her relationship with CJ—or will she end up alone and forgotten?

Vagabonds follows one young woman’s rise to fame past the pitfalls of sex, drugs, and easy money, through fortune and success to heartbreak and betrayal. Five girls build their band The Vagabonds from nothing but a hunger to create and quickly find that they are nothing but pawns in a larger game played by managers, agents, the press, the music industry, and all manner of unscrupulous, greedy people who want to feed on their triumphs. Friendships and lives hang in the balance. Who will survive?

This is the second book in the Vagabonds trilogy.  They do need to be read in order, but there are no cliff-hangers.

Kyle and her bandmates, collectively known as the Vagabonds, are exposed to the world of rock as a touring all-girl band.  Everyone knows the trilogy – sex, drugs, and rock-n-roll.  They are ready to rock, but are they able to navigate the heavy waters of the other two legs of the journey?  Though all musical phenomes, they are faced with grasping a maturity their years may not have yet prepared them to handle.

I am not musically inclined.  Don’t get me wrong – just because I can’t sing, doesn’t mean I won’t!  Reading this series, I swear even I could hear the notes that needed to be played, complete with some major shredding and eloquent riffs.

I was so immersed in being Kyle as I read this, that I often felt the need for an after-the-sexiness cigarette, felt the hangover, and felt the adoration of the crowds as I sang.  I also felt the frustrations, the joys, and the angst of being a late teen riding the surf of budding fame and burgeoning womanhood.

I love Kyle’s determination to make it and to do it all in a big way.  Her focus – music – comes before everything.  This is tested and always reinforced.  Then there is the CJ issue – I felt like I was waiting for my 18th birthday to come again (never mind that I’m nearly three times that age!).  Their chemistry was already off the charts and I just knew that that was going to be a rocking song when it hit the stage. 

The minute I finished the last word, I was begging for book three.  Jade doesn’t disappoint – though never in the ways that you are expecting.  She delivers and has earned her title – the Queen of Rock Romance. 

Grammar/editing:  ungraded – book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

The Vagabonds series:
  1. On the Run
  2. On the Road
  3. On the Rocks
Other Books from Jade C. Jamison:
  • MADversary
  • Then Kiss Me
  • Stating His Case
  • Fabric of Night
  • Worst Mother
  • Old House
  • Finger Bang
  • Substitute Boyfriend
  • Savage
Bullet series:
      1.  Bullet
      2.  Rock Bottom
      3.  Feverish
      3.5 Boiling Point (coming soon)
      4.  Fully Automatic
      4.5  Christmas Stalkings (novella)
      5.  Slash & Burn
      6.  Locked and Loaded (coming soon)
      Tangled Web Series:
        1.  Tangled Web: A Steamy Heavy Metal Novella
        2.  Everything But
        **  Punctured, Bruised, and Barely Tattooed
        3.  Seal All Exits (not yet released)

      Wishes series:
      1. Be Careful What You Wish For
      2. Secret Wishes (not yet released)
      3. Carnal Wishes (not yet released)
      4. Dangerous Wishes (not yet released)
      Nicki Sosebee Series:
        1. Got the Life
        2. Dead
        3. No Place to Hide
        4. Right Now
        5. One More Time
        6. Lost
        7. Innocent Bystander
        8. Blind
        9. Fake
        10. Lies (coming soon)

      No comments:

      Post a Comment