Saturday, September 5, 2015


Series:  The Dukes of War #5
Author:  Erica Ridley
Publish Date:   09.01.15
Publisher:  Intrepid Reads
Category /Genre:  Historical Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Intrepid Reads via NetGalley (in exchange for an honest review)
Date completed: 09.04.15

Description from the publisher:

Miss Sarah Fairfax is having a wretched year. Her intended perished at war. His child is in her belly. To secure her future, she resigns herself to a loveless marriage. Just as she’s about to say "I do," her fiancée returns from the grave to crash the wedding... but he’s no longer the charming, carefree man she remembers.

After being left for dead on the battlefield, Brigadier Edmund Blackpool is scarred inside and out. He fights his way home only to discover his intended before the altar with his best friend. He'll be the one to marry her, no matter what she wants! But when his new bride disappears with his child, he must reopen his wounds to win the most important battle of his life.

This is the fifth book in the Dukes of War series.  While each does stand on its own, there is an over-arching storyline that is best enjoyed if read in the order of release.

I have to admit, I have been dying for this story ever since we were introduced to Sarah in the first book.  Today it seems common place to have your first child without a husband, but in all but the last few generations, this was social suicide.  How was Erica Ridley going to approach such a delicate subject?  The answer:  with her usual humor and romance!

I wanted to shake both Sarah and Edmund.  I wanted to scream at them!  If they would just TALK to one another they would find that their obstacles were imaginary, but that is the truth found within this story.  Many of our obstacles are imaginary and communication is usually the key to mounting those hurdles.

Please, Erica Ridley!  Have mercy on us and release the next book soon.  There have been enough hints to know who the lady and the “hero” will be. 

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect – book received as an unedited ARC

The Dukes of War series:
  1. The Viscount’s Christmas Temptation (FREE)
  2. The Earl’s Defiant Wallflower
  3. The Captain’s Bluestocking Mistress
  4. The Major’s Faux Fiancée
  5. The Brigadier’s Runaway Bride
  6. The Pirate’s Tempting Stowaway (expected 12.01.15)
  7. The Duke’s Accidental Wife (expected 03.01.16)
Other Books from Erica Ridley:
  • Charmed
  • Tis the Season
  • Midwinter Magic
  • One Enchanted Season
  • Let It Snow
The Wicked Sinful series:
  1. Too Wicked to Kiss
  2. Too Sinful to Deny
  3. Dark Surrender

No comments:

Post a Comment