Thursday, September 10, 2015

ESCAPING ME by Cat Mason

Series:  Shaft on Tour #1
Author:  Cat Mason
Publish Date:   12.13.13
Publisher:  Cat Mason
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content 
Received from:  Cat Mason (in exchange for an honest review)
Date completed: 08.01.14
Goodreads link: Escaping Me
Description from the publisher:

Daisy Shayne has a list. Her life has been planned out on a legal pad that she carries in her purse since she was sixteen years old. Now her list is nearly complete, she is about to marry her fiancé Landon, start her new job in the fall and be completely settled. Or is she? Landon and Daisy are going on tour with his brother Grayson’s band, Shaft. For the next six months Landon will be assisting Tad, the group’s new manager.  

Daisy is now stuck on a crowded tour bus with six men when her plans start blowing up in her face. Things are not what they seem and nothing is making sense. Landon is pushing her away and Grayson is pulling her close. Daisy feels pulled to Grayson which doesn’t go unnoticed by him. Amused and unable to control himself around her Gray decides to hit on her the first moment he sees her. Gray’s new obsession is Daisy, who he deems his own little Widlflower even after he finds out she is to be his sister-in-law. Whatever it is about her he can’t help himself. He is desperate just to be near her.

Temptation, betrayal, and lies on top of booze, tattoos, sex, laughs and love. While making friends and traveling the country Daisy must come to terms with what she wants in life. All while she learns to deal with the rough and rowdy of taking Shaft on Tour. It’s going to be a long hard ride.

***This book is not a normal romance. Things happen fast and with no*** regret. Rockers and all. There are M/F scenes of course but there is M/F/M, hints of M/F/F, possibly a little M/M and plenty of vibrator discussion.

This is the first book in the Shaft on Tour series.  They do need to be read in order.

This is the story of Daisy, Grayson, and Landon.  Grayson and Landon are brothers and Grayson’s band, Shaft, is about to hit it big.  Landon has been invited to go on a six-month tour with the band as an assistant to their manager.  He brings his fiancé, Daisy, along; one woman on a tour bus with six men.  From the first night, Grayson and Daisy feel a pull for each other, but they try to deny it out of respect for Landon.  When the shit hits the fan, Daisy has to decide what she really wants out of life and how to get it.

I love this story from the beginning to the end and I read it all in one day.  I just could not put it down.  Lies, betrayal, love, lust, and tons of laughs in this wonderful romance triangle… um quadrangle?  Daisy is in turns strong and weak, like most of us.  Grayson didn’t want a relationship.  He’s a rock god!  That means working for the music and nothing else, but when he finds Daisy, the flames of lust and love cannot be denied for long.

The bandmates deserve their own stories.  (They do get them in the next two books, which I will be reading this weekend).  Aiden, the drummer, is a Dom with a dark past that has pushed him to excel and lead.  Hunter is the lead man.  He is partying hard with the ladies, a new one – sometimes two – every night.  He is a grade A asshole with a heart buried somewhere in that rough attitude – shhhh, don’t tell him I told you that.  He is also the funniest damn shit on the bus with a penchant for bacon that is downright obsessive.  There is also Landon, Tad (the manager), and Henry (the bodyguard).  There is no character too small to be ignored by Ms. Mason.  They are all well-created and loved – or loved to be hated.

This is the premiere novel offered by Ms. Cat Mason and she obviously has the ability to write a great story.  I would only offer that it does need some more editing love.  I am excited to be reading the next two books in the series this weekend and as soon as this is posted, I will start on book two.

Grammar/editing:  C – average writing, probably self-edited

The Shaft on Tour series:
  1. Escaping Me
  2. Facing Me
  3. Chasing Me

Other Books from this Author:
  • Artistic Pricks Series:
    • Gravity (coming soon)

originally posted 08.01.14 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books. 

No comments:

Post a Comment