Saturday, August 5, 2017


Series:  Rogues of Redmere #1
Author:  Samantha Holt
Publish Date:   10.26.2016
Publisher:  Samantha Holt
Category /Genre:  Historical Romance
Grammar/editing:  B – a few small errors
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Amazon purchase
Date completed: 07.30.2017

Description from the publisher:
Red never shies away from a challenge.


But when Miss Hannah St. John strides into his life demanding—yes, demanding—he help her, he’s certain she’s more challenge than even he can handle.

Hannah is determined to transport an artifact from France—one that will change everything—even if it means working with a lawless man like Red. Nothing is more important than preserving history.


Not even the touch of a smuggler who inconceivably makes her stomach twist.

When it becomes clear the irritating bluestocking will do anything for this blasted artifact and needs saving from herself, the earl-turned-smuggler steps in.

Carting a cursed stone across the country with a know-it-all woman is not Red’s idea of fun, particularly when their journey runs far from smoothly…so why does he find himself enjoying her company just a little too much?


YOU’RE THE ROGUE THAT I WANT is the first book in the Rogues of Redmere series.  They will need to be read in the order of release as there is a continuation of story.

I don’t know which character I loved more – Hannah the bluestocking (a lady who prefers books and learning over fashion and flirting – a true scandal in her day) or Red, aka Guy Kingsley, the Earl of Redmere and a smuggler.  I see so much of myself in Hannah.  A bit bossy when those I care about need to be cared for, but a tender heart that she tries to protect to her own detriment.  Plus there is her love of books more than people…probably because they are more reliable.  I cheered out loud at the end, when Hannah… oh, I don’t want to give that away!  Then there is Red.  He is the kind of man every woman wants be with and every man wants to be.  He is strong, intelligent, handsome, brave, and wealthy.  He’s a titled gentleman, but secretly he’s also a smuggler.  The biggest secret is why he is smuggling.  Another bit I won’t give away.  I’ll just leave it at you want to read this book.  I know I want to continue reading this series.

I have read many wonderful stories from Samantha Holt and every one of them has delighted me.  None has made me feel more like I was one of the characters, but that’s probably because a bookworm will always feel an affinity for our blue stockinged predecessors.  I’m looking forward to many more stories from Ms. Holt’s proverbial pen.

Also from Samantha Holt:
          ·         The Crimson Castle
          ·         A Summer Siege
          ·         The Sexy Bartender’s Virtual Seduction
          ·         Buckle Down
          ·         Eden’s Fire
          ·         Not Another Soldier
          ·         Her Dream Cowboy
          ·         Hunting His Highland Lass
          ·         Alrek
          ·         Too Much to Lose
          ·         Tempting His Mistress
          ·         Once Upon a Rake
          ·         Christmas Seduction
          ·         Kissed at Midnight
          ·         The Warrior’s Reward
Borderland Legacy:
          1.      Borderland Bride
          2.      Borderland Beauty
          3.      Borderland Betrayal
The Cynfell Brothers series:
  1. Sinful Confessions
  2. Sinful Deeds
  3. Sinful Liaisons
  4. Sinful Cravings
  5. Sinful Possession
  6. Sinful Temptations
  7. Sinful Secrets
Highland Fae Chronicles:
          1.      To Steal a Highlander’s Heart
          2.      To Dream of a Highlander
          3.      To Avenge Her Highland Warrior
The One Knight Collection:
          1.      One Knight
          2.      Black Knight
          3.      White Knight
          4.      Highland Knight
Regency Fairy Twists:
          1.      Wake Me with a Kiss
          2.      The Beast Who Loved Me
          3.      Dance with Me at Midnight
Bluestocking Brides series:
          1.      Amelia and the Viscount
          2.      Julia and the Duke


Sunday, June 25, 2017

MARKED DRAGON by Aurora Woodlove

Series:  Lured by Fire #1
Author:  Aurora Woodlove
Publish Date:   06.12.2017
Publisher:  Aurora Woodlove
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  B / D
Received from:  Aurora Woodlove (as a gifted ARC)
Goodreads link: Marked Dragon
Date completed: 06.24.2017

Description from the publisher:
Curvy Erika Williams is not the woman she used to be - bossy, confident, determined. Her divorce sent her spiraling, but now, two years later, she's coming to the conclusion that she has had enough of living in fear and alone. It's time for a change. Challenges are everywhere, money's tight, her house’s literally collapsing and then drop dead gorgeous - and very human, at first sight - Noah enters Erika's life out of the blue. Raised to believe shifters don’t mix with humans, she’s baffled to discover her inner animal’s interest in Noah.

After years of struggling to build a quiet life among humans, things are finally going well for dragon shifter Noah Crosso. He has everything he needs, except a personal life, but that doesn’t bother him. Then, his dragon decides he finally wants a woman. When he sets his eyes on shy, curvy – very human, at first sight - Erika, he uses every excuse he can to be close to her. Having sworn off women a long time ago, Noah can’t believe his dragon is so attracted to a confusing, hot human.

Is their attraction strong enough for them to break their self-imposed barriers?

This is the 2nd book in the Lured by Fire series and it is a standalone with NO cliffhangers and a "happily ever after". It contains explicit language and sizzling hot scenes that might set your Kindle on fire.  Intended for readers 18+.


MARKED DRAGON is the second book in the Lured by Fire series.  It does stand on its own, but I would still recommend reading them in each and in the order of release as well as the series from which this spins off.

Janet’s first Lured by Fire event at SI is set to celebrate Valentine’s Day, but after so many successful previous events this one isn’t looking good – mostly due to the weather.  The event had been so built up in the first book that I was disappointed in the non-event presented in the second book.

On the other hand, the story of Noah and Erika from meet cute to epilogue is entertaining, intriguing, and sexy naked-time at its best.  I don’t want to give away any of the unique aspects of the story (and there are many), but I will say that these two are H.O.T!

This is the first time I have had to split my Grammar and editing grade the way that I did because usually one grade will cover both.  Ms. Woodlove’s grammar is fine in this book and I found very few errors, but as an erstwhile editor I would have called this a lovely second draft and asked her to organize her thoughts and her presentation a little more tightly.  It was like being within the mind of a person with ADHD.  I liken this to a woman with too many chores and not enough hours in the day (a state I understand all too well).  You’ve taken the time to make a list, now put them in the order that will get them done most efficiently.  There was also some of Noah’s backstory that needed more explanation to be clearer, including his timeline.

Bottom line:  While I do feel this one was rushed to publication, I wouldn’t miss a Woodlove story.  I know that I -will love- every one of them!

Note:  while I was given this book as a gifted ARC, my opinions are my own and are given freely.

Lured by Fire series:
1.      Claimed Bear
2.      Marked Dragon
Shifting Impulses series:
1.      Anna and the Bear
2.      Celine and the Bear
3.      Janet and the Bear
4.      Bearly Furgotten
5.      Christmas Mate