Monday, August 8, 2016


Series:  Southern Love #1
Author:  E.L. Todd
Publish Date:   03.14.14
Publisher:  E.L. Todd
Category /Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Grammar/editing:  B – a few small errors
Received from:  E.L. Todd (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: Then Came Alexandra
Date completed: 07.12.14

Description from the publisher:
"You’re everything to me. More than everything."

After a horrific accident working as a nurse in the emergency room, Alexandra becomes reclusive to the world around her. Unable to be speak or function, she pushes away her boyfriend, Paul, of two years. Her distance causes him to spend time with someone else…the betrayal causes her to pack her bags and leave everything behind. She doesn’t know what comfort she’ll find in Savannah, Georgia, but she flees anyway.

After inheriting the most lucrative cotton field in the south, Blaise has to become a man early in life. He spends his nights with different girls, knowing they are after his money and his special abilities in the bedroom, but he makes a serious mistake with Danielle. Now she lives with him and he guards a secret that he promises to keep…even though that secret is destroying his life. When Alexandra comes into town, her smile and compassion evident, Blaise wants her, and not just in a physical way. Unable to keep his distance, he falls for her, not knowing how long he can keep his secret…

This is the first book in the Southern Love series.  They do need to be read in order.

Alexandra runs from New York.  She runs from her career in nursing and she runs from a two-year relationship believing her boyfriend has cheated on her.  She runs to her aunt’s cotton farm in Georgia.  While she is there, her aunt’s back gives out and Alex pitches in with the help of a neighbor, Blaise.  It turns out that Blaise has inherited the largest cotton producing farms in the USA, but he is always there for Alex’s Aunt Martha.  The attraction between Alex and Blaise is immediate, but they each try to avoid it and keep their secrets.  Even the best guarded secrets eventually are revealed.  Can their burgeoning relationship survive the fallout?

I absolutely love the story.  It is a sweet story of developing the maturity needed to confront your own errors and misunderstandings.  It is a wonderful love story.  Unfortunately, the time-lining was confusing.  Next week something would happen, but the previous episode is referred to as having happened weeks ago.  As long as I suspended the concept of the continuity of time, I did fine in just living in each moment for what it was.

Ms. Todd is a prolific writer.  I would love the opportunity to try more of her books before making a final decision.

Southern Love series:
1.     Then Came Alexandra
2.     Then Came Indecision
3.     Then Came Absolution
4.     Then Came Abby
5.     Abby’s Plight
Forever and Always series:
1.     Only for You
2.     Forever and Always
3.     Edge of Love
4.     Force of Love
5.     Fight for Love
6.     Lover’s Roulette
7.     Happily Ever After
 Hawaiian Crush series:
1.     Connected by the Sea
2.     Breaking Through the Waves
3.     Connected by the Tide
4.     Riding the Surf
5.     Caught in the Undertow
 Alpha series:
1.     Sadie
2.     Elisa
3.     Layla
4.     Janet
5.     Cassie
 Soul Saga series:
1.     Soul Catcher
2.     Soul Binder
3.     Soul Relenter
 Essence series:
1.     Flight of Life
2.     Tale of Life


Originally posted 07.12.2014 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment