Sunday, July 3, 2016

JUST SHOOT ME by Becky McGraw


Series:  Cowboy Way #1

Author:  Becky McGraw

Publish Date:   02.12.14

Publisher:  Becky McGraw

Category /Genre:  Contemporary romance

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

Received from:  Amazon purchase

Goodreads link: Just Shoot Mme

Date completed: 07.03.14


Description from the publisher:

This is book one of a new series called The Cowboy Way, by Becky McGraw, author of the Texas Trouble series. The series is a spinoff from her novella Hope for Christmas, which was included in the anthology SANTA WORE SPURS and is still available on The Cowboy Way series is a little funnier, a lot hotter and somewhat more intimate without the action/suspense that is included in her bestselling Texas Trouble series.

*******JUST SHOOT ME (#1, Cowboy Way)*******
Tina Montgomery needs to find her Texas Tomcat. Her promotion and livelihood depend on it. That promotion could mean a new life for her, her sister and her niece. It's a big risk however, because if she fails in her bid to head up a new menswear line at her company, she could lose everything. That's why finding the perfect model to represent the line has become her sole focus. At the point of thinking she would never find that man, one with both experience and attitude that shows in his face and eyes, she meets Dean Dixon. His gorgeous eyes tell a story she definitely wants to hear and the man has more attitude than any she’s ever met. Physically he's perfect for the job. But that attitude she thought she wanted in her cowboy quickly becomes her biggest downfall when she tries to convince the sexy, but hard-hearted rancher to help her.

Dean Dixon is done with women. His cheating ex-wife has shown him just how untrustworthy women are. He has a ranch to run, and a son who might not be his to raise alone. That's more than enough for any man to handle without dealing with his sister-in-law’s friend who is determined to convince him to model for her company. He has seen what that industry has done to his brother. Dean is a rancher, not a model, and he isn't about to abandon his family or fall into the same trap his brother had. He stands his ground, until his sister-in-law tells him why Tina needs the promotion she’s wanting so badly, and asks for his help. Hope had bailed him and his family out when they needed her the year prior. How could he refuse to help her now?


This is the first book in the Cowboy Way series.  They do need to be read in order.  This is considered to be a spinoff from the novella Hope for Christmas in the Santa Wore Spurs anthology.


In order to buy a house and provide for her sister and niece, Tina needs to get a promotion.  To get the promotion, she needs the right model for the new line of western wear she has championed at work.  Enter Dean Dixon, rancher.  His sister-in-law is the photographer, his brother was a model, but Dean wants nothing to do with the fashion world.  Mr. Grumpy Pants would rather the bunch of them just clear off his ranch, but he knows the family needs the money being offered for the use of the land.


I loved the characters.  I loved the story.  I loved that these were down-to-earth, living a real life people instead of everyone being a millionaire.  Dean’s tantrums were a little over-the-top for a macho, alpha cowboy, but somewhat understandable in light of his history.  I was up until 3am because I just had to know how everything was resolved.


This is the first book that I have read from Ms. McGraw.  Unfortunately, most of the way through the book, I felt as though I had missed a whole other part to the story.  I believe I would have been less lost had I read the short HOPE FOR CHRISTMAS about Dean’s brother Cord and his wife, Hope.  Other than that, I thought this was an exceptionally well-written cowboy romance and I do want to read more from Ms. McGraw.


The Cowboy Way series:

  1. Just Shoot Me
  2. Cowgirl Crazy (not yet released)

Texas Trouble Series:

  1. My Kind of Trouble
  2. The Trouble with Love
  3. Double the Trouble
  4. Looking for Trouble
  5. Trouble in Dixie
  6. Asking for Trouble
  7. Chasing Trouble
  8. Her Comes Trouble
  9. Worth the Trouble
  10. Royal Trouble
  11. Trouble with the Law
  12. Borrowing Trouble




Originally posted 07.03.2014 on my previous website. closed that site because I promoted authors and their books.

No comments:

Post a Comment