Thursday, July 7, 2016

ART OF CUNNING by Steffanie Holmes


Series:  Crookshollow Foxes #1

Author:  Steffanie Holmes

Publish Date:   04.14.2015

Publisher:  Bacchanalia House

Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content

Grammar/editing:  book received as an unedited ARC / errors excused

Received from:  Aurora Woodlove (in exchange for an honest review)

Goodreads link: Art of Cunning

Date completed: 06.22.16


Description from the publisher:

Alexandra Kline has landed her dream job - curating her first art exhibition at the prestigious Halt Institute in the small English village of Crookshollow. But the dream quickly turns into a nightmare when she’s forced to work with Ryan Raynard - the arrogant, reclusive artist who refuses to co-operate with her. When Ryan’s paintings don’t show up at the gallery on time, Alex heads out to his crumbling, gothic manor to give him a piece of her mind.

Billionaire artist Ryan Raynard hides a dark secret. He is a fox shifter, who shuns the company of humans and hunts alone at night in the forest surrounding his home. But the moment he laid eyes on Alex, he can't help but be drawn to her. He can sense that she’s the descendent of a powerful shifter clan, and she is destined to become his mate. If only he was ready to fall in love again ...

As Ryan and Alex are drawn together, they realise they are facing bigger problems than Ryan’s stone-cold heart. Crookshollow is being overrun with a different kind of shifter - ruthless and deadly, these shifters are killing humans indiscriminately for no apparent reason. And they are hot on Alex’s scent. Can Ryan keep Alex safe from harm, or will his need for her endanger them both?

Reader Warning: Art of Cunning is the first book in the 3-part Crookshollow Foxes serial. This book contains scorching sex, adult language, and a cliffhanger ending. If you like dirty, raunchy sex with a hot fox and one clever, sarcastic heroine, then this book will have you howling for more. Enjoy!


This is the first book in the Art of Cunning series.  They will need to be read in the order of release.


In Crookshollow, England, there are people who are more than human hidden among the neighbors.  One of those neighbors is a reclusive world-renowned artist and a fox shifter…


I was captivated from the first page.  Alex is a curator at the local art museum with an a**hole for a boss.  That alone is enough to cause immediate empathy.  While my bosses are generally nice, we all know people who aren’t so nice.  The artist, Ryan Raynard is hot and haughty.  What a combination!  I loved their building, budding relationship.  The intrigue is also building when Alex is attacked.  Who is trying to hurt her and why?!


Steffanie Holmes provides a quick paced, yet fully-developed short story that is just the first part in a series.  There is a cliff-hanger, but it is worth the read, and the other portions are already available, so you don’t need to wait to continue reading.


The Crookshollow Foxes series:

  1. Art of Cunning
  2. Art of the Hunt
  3. Art of Temptation

Also from Steffanie Holmes:

  • The Man in Black
  • The Maiden & the Marquis
  • The Hysteria Machine

Witches of the Woods Series:

  1. Witch Hunter
  2. Coven

Crookshollow Ravens Series:

  1. Watcher

Emporer’s Desire Series:

  1. Seduced by the Emperor
  2. Bound by the Emperor
  3. The Emperor’s Stallion
  4. Embraced by the Emperor
  5. The Emperor’s Battle
  6. The Emperor’s Legacy

Druid Awakening Chronicles Series:

  1. Shared in the Stone Circle





No comments:

Post a Comment