Tuesday, August 18, 2015

A WOLF TO BEAR by Dee Carney

Kindle World:  Southern Shifters
Author:  Dee Carney
Publish Date:   08.09.2015
Publisher:  Kindle Worlds
Category /Genre:  Paranormal Romance, Fan-Fiction
Recommended for:  18+ due to sexual content
Received from:  Dee Carney (in exchange for an honest review)
Goodreads link: A Wolf to Bear
Date completed: 08.18.15

Description from the publisher:
Hybrid shifter Murphy Hazen has pushed away everyone, ashamed of his mixed blood. Then his solitary path crosses with wolf Sable Blackwood and everything changes. Murphy must rise above his shame to claim the woman who’s destined to be his.

However, Sable is about to be wed to a stranger, her dreams sacrificed to serve the best interests of her wolf pack—but her heart still craves for more. Their attraction won’t be denied, but simply going beyond touching her might mean starting a clan war.

Tearing apart the world around them seems like an acceptable loss...

This is a stand-alone novella in the Southern Shifters Kindle World.  It is not part of any other series.

This is the third story that I have read that is set in the Southern Shifters Kindle World (fan-fiction set in the fictional area called Tail of the Dragon in the Southern Appalachian Mountains).  I have loved each of the ones I have read thus far.  I have two more downloaded and I’m looking forward to more from this series (see list of books and authors below).

Who can resist a damsel in distress?  Murphy Hazen is doing his best to resist her, but knowing she is her fated mate and she is in her first heat is making it damn hard (pun intended).  Still, he is intent on doing the right thing for her, even if that means giving her up.  As I said on the day of my divorce, sometimes loving someone means letting them go if that is what will make them happy.  Along the way, Murphy is going to find out that Sable knows that passion and love are the only things that will make her happy.  He will also learn that needing a helping hand doesn’t mean that she was hopelessly helpless.

I loved this quick romantic story and the characters are just so sweet!  The ending had me smiling for hours!  I’m not spoiling anything when I say that a romance novel has an HEA, but the road to getting there is filled with love, loyalty, and surprises.

This is the first book I have read from Dee Carney.  She has quiet an extensive backlist that I would love to devour now that I have had a taste.

Grammar/editing:  A – near perfect

The Southern Shifters series:
  1. Dirty Sexy Furry (Eliza Gayle)
  2. Mate Night (Eliza Gayle)
  3. Alpha Knows Best (Eliza Gayle)
  4. Bad Kitty (Eliza Gayle)
  5. Be WERE (Eliza Gayle)
  6. Shiftin’ Dirty (Eliza Gayle)
Impawsible (Celia Kyle)
Scents & Scentability (Heather Long)
Bear Sentry (Ruby Shae)
Lion for Her (Brandy Walker)
Bearly Dreaming (Ellis Leigh)
Furever After (Michelle Fox)
Dangerous Prey (Erika Mastern)
Bear ‘N Dirty (Vella Day)
Werelock (Mina Carter)
Shiftin’ Sassy (T.J. Michael)
A Wolf to Bear (Dee Carney)
Other Books from Dee Carney:
  • Wordsmith
  • Soldier
  • Upon a Falling Star
  • How to Tame a Cougar
  • Letting Go
  • The Price of Pleasure
  • As Beautiful Does
  • Illicit Hunger
  • Cold Blooded
  • Interdependence
  • Heart of Stone
  • Open Door Invitation
  • With a Cherry on Top
  • All Aboard
  • Keeping Pace
  • Intimate Whispers
  • Brush Strokes
  • Cravings
  • A Wolf to Bear
  • Taming Her Wolf
The Craft of the Wise Series:
1.      Book of of Shadows
2.      Divination
3.      Rule of Three
4.      Healing Hearts
Phoenix Prophecy Series:
1.      Deeper Than the Ocean
Vampire Hunger Series:
1.      Hunger Aroused
1.5  Hunger Revealed
2.      Hunger Awakened
Close to the Heat Series:
1.      Once Burned


No comments:

Post a Comment