Saturday, January 10, 2015


Author:  C.J. Archer
Publisher:  C.J. Archer
Category:  Sci Fi & Fantasy, Teens & YA
Received from:  C.J. Archer via
Completed: 07.03.13

It's customary for Gothic romance novels to include a mysterious girl locked in the attic. Hannah Smith just wishes she wasn't that girl. As a narcoleptic and the companion to an earl's daughter with a strange affliction of her own, Hannah knows she's lucky to have a roof over her head and food in her belly when so many orphans starve on the streets. Yet freedom is something Hannah longs for. She did not, however, want her freedom to arrive in the form of kidnapping.

Taken by handsome Jack Langley to a place known as Freak House, she finds herself under the same roof as a mad scientist, his niece, a mute servant and Jack, a fire starter with a mysterious past. They assure Hannah she is not a prisoner and that they want to help her. The problem is, they think she's the earl's daughter. What will they do when they discover they took the wrong girl?


This is the first in what has been promised to be a trilogy.  The story is set in 1888, England, a Gothic young romance with a supernatural twist.  Because it is the first in a series, not all questions have been answered by the end of the book.  I love that!

Violet is Lord Wade’s daughter.  Hannah Smith, orphaned, but lucky enough to be fostered by Lord Wade, is Violet’s constant companion.  Also, she has narcolepsy.  

Jack, his cousin Sylvia, and their uncle August Langley are the dysfunctional family living in Freak House (Frakingham House).  August has directed Jack to kidnap the Earl’s daughter.  Jack and Violet are Firestarters, but Jack is drawn to Hannah and kidnaps her believing that she is Violet.  The big question is why they have kidnapped her.

I found this to be an easy, enjoyable read.  The beginning was wonderful, providing plenty of background, while maintaining the light and easy feel of the read.  The story progressed evenly with enough surprises to keep my attention.  The ending was open to allow for the continuation into the next book.
I look forward to rejoining these new friends in their next adventure at Freak House!

Editing:  A

 Other books in the Freak House Series (trilogy):
  1. The Wrong Girl
  2. Playing with Fire
  3.  (not yet named)
Other Books from C.J. Archer:
  • The Charmer
  • Courting His Countess
  • Surrender
  • Redemption
  • The Mercenary's Price
Emily Chambers, Spirit Medium Series:
    1. The Medium
    2. Possession
    3. Evermore
·         Lord Hawkesbury's Players Series:

  1. Her Secret Desire
  2. Scandal's Mistress
  3. To Tempt the Devil

·         The Witchblade Chronicles Series:

  1. Honor Bound
  2. Kiss of Ash

Nome de plume: Carolyn Scott
·         The Diamond Affair
·         Finders Keepers Losers Die
·         You Again


originally posted 07.04.13 on my previous website closed that site because I promoted authors and their books

No comments:

Post a Comment